Skip to content

Countries

Study in Egypt: costs, visa, scholarships and universities

Costs, visa process, work rights, scholarships and university options for studying in Egypt.

Overview

Egypt's Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research runs the Study in Egypt initiative through its Central Administration for International Students' Affairs. The official application platform is admission.study-in-egypt.gov.eg, where non-Egyptian applicants create an account, apply to programmes and are nominated to a university before enrolling and paying tuition. The portal lists about 74 universities, ranging from public and private to national, technological and international institutions.

Published tuition for foreign students is quoted in US dollars and varies by field. An Ain Shams University document (uploaded 2024) gives a first-year registration fee of USD 1,500 and annual tuition of USD 3,500 to 8,000 for undergraduate programmes and USD 4,500 to 8,000 for postgraduate programmes, with extra fees for credit-hour programmes. Private universities such as AUC charge per credit hour (USD 735 for international undergraduates).

The portal does not publish visa or residence rules. Universities such as AUC describe an entry visa followed by a student residence permit obtained with the university's help; rules depend on nationality and security approval. Several official foreign-ministry advisories urge caution in parts of Sinai and border areas and note regional tensions in 2026, while Cairo, Alexandria and the Nile Valley are not among the areas the UK names.

Scholarships exist through the EGY-AID initiative on the Study in Egypt platform (a postgraduate call with a 15 September 2025 deadline was reported) and through Al-Azhar country quotas allocated via embassies. Living costs, work rights and post-study stay rules were not found on official pages in this pass and are left unverified.

Public university tuition
Ain Shams international-students document (PDF uploaded 2024; confirm current): first-year registration/application fee USD 1,500 via the Study in Egypt site; annual undergraduate tuition USD 8,000 (Medicine, Dentistry), 6,000 (Pharmacy, Engineering, Computer Science, Physical Therapy), 5,000 (Veterinary, Agriculture, Science, Nursing), 3,500 (other faculties); postgraduate USD 8,000 / 6,500 / 6,000 / 4,500; credit-hour programmes add the programme fee. Public-university portal listings follow the same tiers (e.g. Alexandria Business 3,500; Engineering 6,000; Medicine 8,000; Tanta Medicine 6,000; Cairo University postgraduate diplomas 4,500), with international/dual-degree programmes costing more (Alexandria medicine joint degree 12,500).Source
Monthly living cost
Not yet verified
Visa processing time
Not yet verifiedSource
Work rights
text: null; nullReason: No official statement on student work rights found. Not claimed.
Intakes and deadlines
The portal's higher-education programmes run 8-14 semesters and postgraduate 2-10 semesters; no application window for the public platform was published on pages read. AUC admits for Fall and Spring: undergraduate deadlines 1 Nov (Spring 2027), 1 Feb (Fall 2027 early), 1 Jun (Fall 2027 regular).Source
Language requirement
Language of instruction varies by programme; the portal marks some programmes as English ('in English language', 'English Track') while many entries state no language, and Arabic-language courses for non-native speakers (2-10 semesters) are offered. Admission requirements differ by certificate type and faculty (qualifying subjects), including IGCSE and American Diploma rules (portal FAQ). AUC requires TOEFL, Academic IELTS or Duolingo (tests under two years old; TOEFL code 0903) unless exempt. Test minimums for public universities were not found.Source

Tuition and living costs

Public university tuition
Ain Shams international-students document (PDF uploaded 2024; confirm current): first-year registration/application fee USD 1,500 via the Study in Egypt site; annual undergraduate tuition USD 8,000 (Medicine, Dentistry), 6,000 (Pharmacy, Engineering, Computer Science, Physical Therapy), 5,000 (Veterinary, Agriculture, Science, Nursing), 3,500 (other faculties); postgraduate USD 8,000 / 6,500 / 6,000 / 4,500; credit-hour programmes add the programme fee. Public-university portal listings follow the same tiers (e.g. Alexandria Business 3,500; Engineering 6,000; Medicine 8,000; Tanta Medicine 6,000; Cairo University postgraduate diplomas 4,500), with international/dual-degree programmes costing more (Alexandria medicine joint degree 12,500).Source
Private university tuition
AUC: USD 735 per credit hour for international undergraduates (USD 700 Egyptian), paid in USD. Portal listings for other private universities (units not stated): Misr International University USD 8,000-9,700 (business, computer science, architecture); The British University in Egypt GBP 7,950-10,500 (BSc Hons programmes); MSA USD 11,200-15,800 plus EGP fees; Arab Academy for Science, Technology and Maritime Transport USD 5,465-7,175 (three-value tiers).Source
Monthly living cost
Not yet verified

Accommodation

University housing exists at several public universities (Cairo University cities and guest houses with an online booking system; Ain Shams dormitory system; Tanta hostels; Zagazig University City; Assiut housing) and at AUC residences. Rates and eligibility for international students not verified; ask the university's international office.

When planning the total budget, separate one-off and monthly items. Budget planning guide

Visa and residence permit

The Study in Egypt portal (Ministry of Higher Education) handles admission and nomination but publishes no visa or residence rules. Per AUC (a university, not a government source), international students state 'study' as purpose when applying for an entry visa at an Egyptian consulate (a 90-day visa application), or use visa on arrival where eligible, then obtain an Egyptian student residence permit through the university's office with the immigration office; governmental approvals are valid four years and residency cards are renewed annually. The Interior Ministry e-Visa portal lists nationalities eligible for tourist e-visas. Entry/residence rules change; confirm with the nearest Egyptian embassy or consulate and the university's international office.

Visa processing time
Not yet verifiedSource
Proof of funds
Not yet verifiedSource
Health insurance
See visa.healthInsurance (AUC mandatory plan; national requirement not verified).Source

Application steps

  1. Apply through admission.study-in-egypt.gov.eg and obtain a nomination/acceptance (portal FAQ).
  2. Check the entry-visa category for your nationality with the Egyptian embassy/consulate; where applying at a consulate state study as the purpose of stay (AUC).
  3. Ensure the passport is valid at least six months beyond arrival (AUC, e-Visa portal, UK FCDO).
  4. After arrival register with the university's office; certain nationalities must register passports within 7 days and cannot extend tourist visas (AUC list), so the university issues an enrolment letter while security approval is pending.
  5. Pay the government residency fee and obtain the student residence card; renew annually; apply for a re-entry visa at least one week before leaving Egypt (AUC).

Documents required

  • Valid passport (at least 6 months beyond arrival; at least one blank page per UK FCDO)
  • Application documents on the portal: valid passport, academic certificate with required authentications, personal photo, additional documents by certificate type (portal FAQ)
  • Postgraduate: academic certificate and transcript; degree equivalency from the Supreme Council of Universities where required (portal FAQ; equ.scu.eg)
  • e-Visa printout, itinerary and supporting letter if entering on a tourist e-visa (e-Visa portal)
  • Residence-permit document list: not verified from an official page (varies; handled by the university office)

Travel advisories, sanctions and payments

As of 2026-10-26: UK FCDO (still current 26 Oct 2026; updated 4 Aug 2026) advises against all travel to within 20 km of the Egypt-Libya border and to North Sinai, and against all but essential travel to the northern part of South Sinai, the part of Ismailiyah east of the Suez Canal, much of the Western Desert, and the Hala'ib Triangle/Bir Tawil; cites regional tensions after US-Iran hostilities (an apparent drone strike and fire damaged two ships off Damietta on 29 Jul) and the closed Rafah crossing; the areas named do not include Cairo, Alexandria or the Nile Valley/Delta. Germany's Auswaertiges Amt: partial travel warning (Teilreisewarnung), page of 26 Oct 2026 unchanged since 29 Sep 2026: warns against North Sinai and the Egyptian-Israeli border area (except Taba) and remote Sahara areas; advises against unaccompanied individual trips in South Sinai; urges particular caution given the Gulf conflict, notes the drone-hit ships at Damietta, increased checks on purpose of stay and expulsions for overstay or visa-purpose violations. US State Department page returned HTTP 403 and was not read. Turkish MFA: see items.

Fees
AUC lists governmental fees (EGP, 'official government receipts'; page updated 15 Oct 2026): residency visa EGP 7,100; tourist visa renewal (residency extension) EGP 7,100; re-entry visa EGP 850; late-application fine EGP 1,685; passport registration fee EGP 110 for listed nationalities. Tourist e-Visa (Ministry of Interior portal): USD 30 single entry, USD 65 multiple entry. Germany's Auswaertiges Amt reports visa on arrival USD 30 (USD 36 cash at Cairo bank counters for the new QR-code visa, from 1 Sep 2026). Fees are university/third-country statements except the e-Visa portal.Source

Nationality-specific notes: turkish: Turkish MFA page (undated): holders of ordinary (general) passports are subject to a visa; Egypt issues a one-month entry visa at border crossings to Turkish citizens under 20 or over 45; since 1 Apr 2022 a 15-day tourism entry permit applies at South Sinai airports/ports (Sharm el-Sheikh) with conditions (return ticket, hotel booking, at least USD 2,000 cash or card). Diplomatic, service and special passports are visa-exempt for 90 days of tourism. Student-visa rules for Turkish nationals not found; Turkey is not on the e-Visa portal list and appears on AUC's list of nationalities that cannot extend tourist visas.; russian: Russian Federation is on the Egypt e-Visa portal list of nationalities that may apply for a tourist e-visa (USD 30 single / 65 multiple). Student-specific rules not found; Russia is not on AUC's list of nationalities unable to extend tourist visas or required to register within 7 days.; kazakh: Kazakhstan is not on the e-Visa portal nationality list. AUC lists Kazakhstan among nationalities that must register passports within 7 days (EGP 110) and cannot extend tourist visas. University statement; confirm with the Egyptian embassy.; ukrainian: Ukraine is on the e-Visa portal nationality list; AUC lists Ukraine among nationalities that cannot extend tourist visas (a student visa/security approval route applies; a letter confirms enrolment while processing).; azerbaijani: Azerbaijan is on the e-Visa portal nationality list; AUC lists Azerbaijan both among nationalities that must register passports within 7 days (EGP 110) and cannot extend tourist visas.

Our visa consulting

Work rights and after graduation

text: null; nullReason: No official statement on student work rights found. Not claimed.

After graduation: text: null; nullReason: No official post-study stay rule found.

Language requirements and intakes

Language requirement
Language of instruction varies by programme; the portal marks some programmes as English ('in English language', 'English Track') while many entries state no language, and Arabic-language courses for non-native speakers (2-10 semesters) are offered. Admission requirements differ by certificate type and faculty (qualifying subjects), including IGCSE and American Diploma rules (portal FAQ). AUC requires TOEFL, Academic IELTS or Duolingo (tests under two years old; TOEFL code 0903) unless exempt. Test minimums for public universities were not found.Source
Intakes and deadlines
The portal's higher-education programmes run 8-14 semesters and postgraduate 2-10 semesters; no application window for the public platform was published on pages read. AUC admits for Fall and Spring: undergraduate deadlines 1 Nov (Spring 2027), 1 Feb (Fall 2027 early), 1 Jun (Fall 2027 regular).Source

Language and exam preparation

Scholarships

Postgraduate (master's, PhD) in the 2025/26 call; an Arabic-language centre track also existedDirect application

EGY-AID (Egyptian Initiative for Scholarships and Educational Tourism)

Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research, via the Study in Egypt platform

Coverage
Reported call text: tuition and registration fees only; living costs, accommodation, transport, insurance not covered; scholarship becomes effective after a preparatory year; 50% of tuition if the student fails. (Relayed by an Algerian university posting of the Egyptian call, not the Egyptian original.)
Deadline
15 September 2025 for the 2025/26 call (closed); next call not found
Eligibility
Non-Egyptian nationals; last required degree; not previously on a similar Egyptian government scholarship; at least 'Good'; age limits 30 (master's), 35 (PhD), 15-27 for the Arabic centre (relay). The Ain Shams international-students document confirms that EGY-AID scholarships are available through the Study in Egypt site.
Source
Bachelor's (example: Shari'ah Sciences for Pakistan)By nomination

Al-Azhar Al-Sharif scholarships (country quotas)

Al-Azhar University / Al-Azhar Islamic Missions, allocated through the Egyptian embassy and national authorities

Deadline
29 June 2026 for the Pakistani cohort (50 seats, raised from 30); other countries not found
Eligibility
Pakistan example: online application on international.azu.edu.eg plus hard copies through HEC; qualifications in Islamic studies required. Availability for Turkish, Russian, Kazakh, Ukrainian or Azerbaijani applicants was not found.
Source
UndergraduateVia the university

AUC Excellence Scholarship Program

The American University in Cairo

Coverage
Tuition coverage up to 100% when scholarships are combined (AUC tuition page); details not retrieved
Eligibility
Transfer applicants with fewer than 60 credit hours may apply; evaluated on secondary-school record (undergraduate requirements page).
Source

Cities

Cairo / Giza

Alexandria

Tanta

Assiut

Zagazig

Universities

Cairo University

Giza (Greater Cairo) · Public

Portal lists USD 4,500 for each Cairo University postgraduate diploma shown (Faculty of Arts). The Ain Shams international-students document gives USD 4,500 as the general postgraduate tuition tier for 'other' faculties (annual). No undergraduate programmes are listed for Cairo University on the portal.

Ain Shams University

Cairo (Abbassia) · Public

Ain Shams international-students document (PDF uploaded 2024; confirm current): first-year registration fee USD 1,500 paid through the Study in Egypt site; annual undergraduate tuition USD 8,000 (Medicine, Dentistry), 6,000 (Pharmacy, Engineering, Computer Science), 5,000 (Veterinary, Agriculture, Science, Nursing), 3,500 (all other disciplines); postgraduate USD 8,000 / 6,500 / 6,000 / 4,500 by the same grouping; credit-hour programmes pay these fees plus the programme fee. Portal lists Medicine at USD 8,000 per year and the Extended Medical Program at USD 16,000 per year.

Alexandria University

Alexandria · Public

Portal examples (USD, unit not stated): general programmes 3,500 (Business), 5,000 (Science), 6,000 (Engineering, PharmD), 8,000 (Medicine national programme, Dentistry); special/English programmes 4,500 (Business in English) to 8,000 (Engineering SSP); international medicine 10,000; dual degrees from 12,500 (medicine joint degree) and up to 8,000 + 14,000 (engineering 2+2). Tiering matches the Ain Shams document (annual fees by field).

Assuit university

Assiut · Public

Portal examples (USD, unit not stated): Science and Agriculture 5,000; Engineering, Pharmacy, Computers and Information 6,000; Medicine and Dentistry 8,000; Nursing 5,000. Some programmes list 0 or special fees; check each entry.

Tanta University

Tanta · Public

Portal examples (USD, unit not stated): Medicine and Dentistry 6,000; Pharmacy 5,000; Nursing 4,000; other programmes 3,500-5,500.

Zagazig University

Zagazig · Public

Portal examples (USD, unit not stated): Medicine and Dentistry 6,000; Pharmacy 5,000; Nursing 4,000; veterinary 4,000; special programmes add fees such as '6000 + 2000' (medicine special) or '5000 + 750'.

The American University in Cairo (AUC)

New Cairo · Private

USD 735 per credit hour for undergraduate international students; USD 700 for Egyptian students; international students must pay in US dollars; non-degree students and auditors pay the same rate. Provisional admission requires a non-refundable deposit deducted from tuition. Mandatory international-student health insurance is charged in addition (see healthInsurance).

Al-Azhar University

Cairo · Public

Mansoura University

Mansoura · Public

Helwan University

Cairo · Public

Minia University

Minya · Public

Menoufia University

Shebin El Kom · Public

Suez Canal University

Ismailia · Public

South Valley University

Qena · Public

Benha University

Benha · Public

Fayoum University

Faiyum · Public

Beni-Suef University

Beni Suef · Public

Kafrelsheikh University

Kafr El Sheikh · Public

Sohag University

Sohag · Public

Port Said University

Port Said · Public

Damanhour University

Damanhour · Public

Aswan University

Aswan · Public

Damietta University

New Damietta · Public

University of Sadat City

Sadat City · Public

Suez University

Suez · Public

Arish University

Arish · Public

New Valley University

Kharga · Public

Matrouh University

Marsa Matrouh · Public

Luxor University

Luxor · Public

Hurghada University

Hurghada · Public

October 6 University

6th of October City · Private

MSA University (October University for Modern Sciences and Arts)

6th of October City · Private

Misr University for Science and Technology (MUST)

6th of October City · Private

Misr International University (MIU)

Shorouk City · Private

German University in Cairo (GUC)

New Cairo · Private

Ahram Canadian University

6th of October City · Private

The British University in Egypt (BUE)

El Shorouk City · Private

Modern University for Technology and Information (MTI)

Cairo · Private

Sinai University

Arish; Kantara (two branches) · Private

Pharos University in Alexandria

Alexandria · Private

Future University in Egypt

New Cairo · Private

Egyptian Russian University

Badr City · Private

Nahda University in Beni Suef

Beni Suef · Private

Delta University for Science and Technology

Private

Heliopolis University for Sustainable Development

Private

Deraya University

Minya · Private

Newgiza University

New Giza · Private

Badr University in Cairo

Badr City · Private

Horus University - Egypt

New Damietta · Private

Alsalam University in Egypt

Tanta · Private

Merit University

New Sohag City · Private

Sphinx University

New Assiut · Private

May University in Cairo

15 May City · Private

Al Hayah University in Cairo

New Cairo · Private

Lotus University in Minya

New Minya · Private

Rashid University

New Rashid · Private

El-Saleyeha El Gadida University (SGU)

New Salhia · Private

Badr University in Assiut (BUA)

New Nasser City, Assiut · Private

Al Ryada University for Science and Technology (RST)

Sadat City · Private

City University of Cairo (CUC)

New Heliopolis City · Private

Badya University

Private

Nile Valley University

Demo · Private

Innovation University

10th of Ramadan City · Private

Obour University for Science & Technology (OUST)

Obour City · Private

Memphis University

Private

University of East Capital (UEC)

New Administrative Capital · Private

New Cairo Technological University (NCTU)

New Cairo (Fifth Settlement) · Public

Beni Suef Technological University

Beni Suef · Public

Borg El Arab Technological University (BATU)

Borg El Arab · Public

Elsewedy University of Technology - Polytechnic of Egypt (SUTech)

10th of Ramadan City · Private

Saxony Egypt University (SEU)

Badr City · Private

Université Française d'Égypte (French University in Egypt)

Al Shorouk City · Public

Nile University

El Sheikh Zayed · Public

Egyptian E-Learning University (name inferred from domain, unverified)

Public

King Salman International University

El Tor · Public

Alamein International University

New Alamein City · Public

Galala University

Public

New Mansoura University

New Mansoura · Public

Egyptian University of Informatics

New Administrative Capital · Public

Mansoura National University (name inferred from domain, unverified)

Public

Helwan National University (name inferred from domain, unverified)

Public

Minia National University (name inferred from domain, unverified)

Public

Menoufia National University (name inferred from domain, unverified)

Public

New Ismailia National University

New Ismailia · Public

Kafr El-Sheikh National University

Kafr El-Sheikh · Public

Sadat City National University

Sadat City · Public

UPEI Cairo Campus (University of Prince Edward Island)

New Administrative Capital · Private

Coventry University (TKH Cairo branch)

New Administrative Capital · Private

University of London (UoL) at European Universities in Egypt

New Administrative Capital · Private

Kazan Federal University in Egypt (name inferred from domain; unverified)

Saint Petersburg State University in Egypt (name inferred from domain; unverified)

University of Hertfordshire in Egypt (Global Academic Foundation)

New Administrative Capital · Private

Sadat Academy for Management Sciences

Cairo (Maadi) · State (other ministry)

Egypt-Japan University of Science and Technology (E-JUST)

Borg El-Arab, Alexandria · Public

Arab Academy for Science, Technology & Maritime Transport (AASTMT)

Alexandria · State (other ministry)

Zewail City of Science, Technology and Innovation

6th of October City · Private

Arab Open University - Egypt

El-Shorouk City · Private

German International University (GIU)

New Administrative Capital · Private

Canadian International College (CIC)

New Cairo · Private

ESLSCA University

Giza · Private

All universities

Official resources

Frequently asked questions

Information on this page is compiled from official sources and was verified on the date shown. Fees, dates and visa rules change often; check official sources before applying. Empty fields have not been verified yet; ask our advisor for the current information.

Let us plan the right path for your goals

In a free initial consultation we review your profile, budget and goals, and narrow down the countries and universities that fit you.