Skip to content

Countries

Study in Palestine: costs, visa, scholarships and universities

Costs, visa process, work rights, scholarships and university options for studying in Palestine.

Overview

The West Bank (including East Jerusalem) and the Gaza Strip are covered by government travel advice that is among the most restrictive in this dataset. The UK FCDO advises against all travel to Gaza, against all travel to Tulkarm, Jenin and Tubas governorates (except Route 90) and against all but essential travel to the rest of the West Bank outside listed exempt areas (updated 22 July 2026). Canada advises avoiding all travel to Palestine (updated 29 July 2026), with Route 90 to the King Hussein (Allenby) Bridge as a non-essential-travel exception. Germany maintains a travel warning for Gaza and the West Bank (excluding East Jerusalem) and advises against travel to East Jerusalem. The Turkish Ministry of Foreign Affairs notice of 7 October 2023 asks citizens to stay in safe enclosed spaces. The US State Department page is blocked and could not be read.

Palestine does not issue its own visas: entry is through Israeli ports of entry under Israeli requirements (Canada). Germany reports that on 23 October 2026 Israel announced the closure of all crossings into the Palestinian territories; the UK states Gaza's crossings have been closed to civilians since 6 May 2024, and Canada and Germany describe Erez as closed and Rafah as closed or extremely limited. Canada states that permits with strict conditions are required for short visits, professional, academic or volunteering purposes to the West Bank and that these procedures apply to all foreign nationals.

Universities publish limited English-language information for foreign applicants. An-Najah National University (Nablus) describes itself as a public institution and lists fifteen faculties; Al-Quds University publishes a 2025 English enrolment guide with programmes and a note that it hosts international exchange students; Palestine Polytechnic University (Hebron) lists twelve colleges and programmes from diploma to PhD. The Islamic University of Gaza posted announcements on 25 and 26 October 2026 about a suspension of academic and administrative work and about three staff deaths. No official foreign-student fee, deadline, scholarship, work-right or living-cost figure was found.

Money: Canada states Palestine has no official currency (Jordanian dinar, Israeli shekel and US dollar are accepted), the West Bank banking system is fragile and relies mainly on card payments, ATMs may not accept foreign cards, and Gaza has no ATMs or banks so cash is the only means of payment. Sanctions and bank-transfer restrictions affecting tuition payment were not verified from an official source; confirm with the university and the sending bank.

Public university tuition
Not yet verifiedSource
Monthly living cost
Not yet verified
Visa processing time
Canada: submit the ETA-IL application at least 72 hours before arrival. Student permit processing time: not found.Source
Work rights
No official source on student work rights in the Palestinian territories found. The UK notes that working in Israel without proper permission can lead to detention and deportation.; postStudy: Post-study stay rules not found.Source
Intakes and deadlines
No official intake calendar for foreign applicants found. The Israeli COGAT procedure (via search description, unverified) states student permit applications are due by 1 April before the academic year.
Language requirement
Language of instruction is mostly not stated on the English pages read. Al-Quds Bard College states English is its primary language of instruction with intensive English in year one; Al-Quds Faculty of Law offers English and Hebrew tracks. No English-test (IELTS/TOEFL) or Arabic requirement for foreign applicants was found.Source

Tuition and living costs

Public university tuition
Not yet verifiedSource
Private university tuition
Not yet verified
Monthly living cost
Not yet verified

Accommodation

No official information on accommodation for foreign students found.

When planning the total budget, separate one-off and monthly items. Budget planning guide

Visa and residence permit

Canada states Palestine does not issue its own visas; to enter, travellers must pass through Israeli ports of entry and comply with Israeli entry requirements. Israel sets entry and exit rules for the West Bank and may deny entry; Canada states that permits with strict conditions are required for short-term visits, professional, academic or volunteering purposes, and temporary residence for spouses, and applies to all foreign nationals; contact Israel's Ministry of Foreign Affairs or the nearest Israeli embassy for the permit type. The UK states that visa-exempt tourists (e.g. UK citizens) need an Israeli Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETA-IL) since 1 January 2025 (25 NIS, valid 2 years, 90-day visit) and that the Israeli immigration slip/entry card must be kept to cross between Israel and the West Bank; some travellers were asked to sign a form not to enter Palestinian Authority-controlled areas without Israeli authorisation, with deportation and a ban of up to 10 years possible if broken. Germany states an entry card (B2 stay permit) is issued at Ben Gurion airport and at the Taba and Allenby/Sheikh Hussein crossings and should be carried at West Bank checkpoints. The Allenby/King Hussein Bridge is one of the Jordan crossings; the UK notes dual nationals may exit only via Allenby or Rafah. Canada states a Jordan visa is required before crossing at Allenby. Gaza: no independent exit routes for foreign nationals (UK); Rafah closed (Germany) or extremely limited (Canada); Erez closed (UK, Canada). Germany reports Israel announced closure of all crossings into the Palestinian territories on 23 Oct 2026. A student-specific procedure: a search-result description of the Israeli COGAT 'Procedure for entry and residence of foreigners in the Judea and Samaria area' (Aug 2022) states student permits are single academic year with extensions, require an invitation from the Palestinian Authority, an acceptance letter, proof of means, medical insurance and an application by 1 April before the academic year; this could not be verified because the gov.il page is blocked.

Visa processing time
Canada: submit the ETA-IL application at least 72 hours before arrival. Student permit processing time: not found.Source
Proof of funds
Proof-of-funds requirement for students not verified from an official page (the COGAT procedure page is blocked).Source
Health insurance
No official student health-insurance requirement verified. Canada states health care is adequate in the West Bank and extremely limited in the Gaza Strip, treatment can be very expensive and hospitals may require immediate payment.Source

Application steps

  1. Read the current government travel advice (visa.travelAdvisories) first; crossings can close at short notice and the German advice reports a closure of all crossings announced on 23 Oct 2026.
  2. Obtain admission information from the Palestinian university; check with its admissions office what documents it provides for permit applications.
  3. Contact Israel's Ministry of Foreign Affairs or the nearest Israeli embassy for the permit required for academic purposes in the West Bank (Canada); the COGAT procedure page on gov.il is the official source but could not be opened here.
  4. Plan the route: Israeli ports of entry (Ben Gurion airport) or the Allenby/King Hussein Bridge from Jordan, with a Jordanian visa if needed (Canada); keep the Israeli entry card for checkpoints (UK, Germany).
  5. Gaza: no routine foreign-student entry route was found; crossings are closed or extremely limited (UK, Germany, Canada).

Documents required

  • Passport valid at least 90 days beyond entry (UK, Canada); German advice for German nationals states 6 months.
  • Israeli ETA-IL for visa-exempt nationalities, submitted at least 72 hours ahead (Canada, UK); nationalities needing a visa should ask the Israeli mission.
  • Israeli entry card / B2 stay permit kept until exit (UK, Germany).
  • For West Bank academic stays: Israeli permit (Canada); documents listed in the COGAT procedure were not verified.

Travel advisories, sanctions and payments

As of 2026-10-26: UK FCDO (updated 22 Jul 2026): advises against all travel to Gaza and within 500 m of the Gaza border; against all travel to Tulkarm, Jenin and Tubas governorates except Route 90; against all but essential travel to the rest of the West Bank outside exempt areas (East Jerusalem, Bethlehem Governorate, Ramallah municipality, Jericho and areas south of it, including the Allenby crossing area). No consular support within Gaza; no independent exit routes for foreign nationals from Gaza; travel against advice may invalidate insurance. Canada (updated 29 Jul 2026): 'Avoid all travel' to Palestine due to military activity, dire humanitarian conditions and volatile security in Gaza and the West Bank, excluding Highway 1 / Route 90 to King Hussein Bridge near Jericho (avoid non-essential travel there); 'avoid non-essential travel' to Jerusalem and Israel; avoid all travel within 10 km of the Gaza border. Canada has a Representative Office in Ramallah. Germany (Auswaertiges Amt): joint page for Israel and the Palestinian territories; warns against travel to the Gaza Strip and the West Bank (excluding East Jerusalem) and asks German nationals there to leave if possible; advises against East Jerusalem; reports a ceasefire in Gaza since October 2025 described as fragile, frequent military operations and checkpoints in the West Bank, increased settler attacks including on foreign visitors near Nablus and Hebron, and Israel's announcement on 23 Oct 2026 closing all crossings into the Palestinian territories; consular help in Gaza practically impossible. Turkiye Ministry of Foreign Affairs: notice of 7 Oct 2023 for Israel and Palestine asks citizens to continue staying in safe enclosed areas and lists embassy/consulate emergency lines; no later notice for Israel/Palestine appears in the ministry's announcement list read on 2026-10-26. US State Department (pages read 2026-10-26): the advisory is now issued separately. The West Bank: Level 3 'Reconsider travel' (issued 26 Oct 2026; terrorism and unrest). Gaza: Level 4 'Do not travel' (issued 26 Aug 2026; terrorism, unrest, limited health infrastructure, no US consular services). Israel: Level 3 with Level 4 areas (issued 23 Oct 2026).

Sanctions affecting tuition payments were not verified from an official source. Payments in practice: Canada states Palestine has no official currency (JOD, NIS and USD accepted); ATMs exist in Israel and the West Bank but may not accept Canadian cards; the West Bank banking system is fragile and relies mainly on card payments; in Gaza there are no ATMs or banks and cash is the only form of payment. Germany (Israel section) states cards are widely accepted in Israel and EUR/USD exchange is easy. Whether tuition can be transferred from Turkiye, Russia, Kazakhstan, Ukraine or Azerbaijan, or from a specific bank, was not verified and must be confirmed in writing with the university and the sending bank.

Fees
UK: Israeli ETA-IL costs 25 new Israeli shekels (valid 2 years, 90-day visit). This is an Israeli travel authorisation, not a student permit fee; student permit fees were not found on an official source.Source

Our visa consulting

Work rights and after graduation

No official source on student work rights in the Palestinian territories found. The UK notes that working in Israel without proper permission can lead to detention and deportation.; postStudy: Post-study stay rules not found.

After graduation: No official source on post-study stay.

Source

Language requirements and intakes

Language requirement
Language of instruction is mostly not stated on the English pages read. Al-Quds Bard College states English is its primary language of instruction with intensive English in year one; Al-Quds Faculty of Law offers English and Hebrew tracks. No English-test (IELTS/TOEFL) or Arabic requirement for foreign applicants was found.Source
Intakes and deadlines
No official intake calendar for foreign applicants found. The Israeli COGAT procedure (via search description, unverified) states student permit applications are due by 1 April before the academic year.

Language and exam preparation

Scholarships

Verified scholarship information for this country has not been added yet; ask our advisor for current programmes.

Cities

Nablus

Hebron

East Jerusalem and Abu Dis

Gaza City

Universities

All universities

Official resources

Frequently asked questions

Information on this page is compiled from official sources and was verified on the date shown. Fees, dates and visa rules change often; check official sources before applying. Empty fields have not been verified yet; ask our advisor for the current information.

Let us plan the right path for your goals

In a free initial consultation we review your profile, budget and goals, and narrow down the countries and universities that fit you.