Skip to content

Countries

Study in Yemen: costs, visa, scholarships and universities

Costs, visa process, work rights, scholarships and university options for studying in Yemen.

Overview

Yemen is in a state of armed conflict with divided authority, and the governments consulted advise against all travel there. The UK, Canada, Germany and (per a search summary) the US advise nationals not to travel; the UK tells anyone in Yemen to leave and the German embassy in Sanaa is closed. This dataset records what official sources say about study; it does not recommend study or travel.

Public universities exist in Sana'a (founded 1970 per its site), Aden, Mukalla (Hadhramout University) and elsewhere, and private institutions such as the University of Science and Technology (UST) operate branches. Authority is split between the Houthi-controlled north and the internationally recognised government in Aden, and UST itself marks some of its branches as not recognised, so recognition of degrees and branches needs checking with the relevant authority.

Official student-facing information for foreigners is thin. Hadhramout University publishes a 2025-2026 international scholarship call (500 places, tuition and housing, closed on 5 Apr 2026) and an Arabic-language programme call. Tuition amounts for international students, work rights, financial-proof rules and visa processing times were not found on official pages.

Sanctions and payment constraints matter: the UN 2140 regime (to 14 Nov 2026), US designation of Ansarallah as a Foreign Terrorist Organization and designations of Sana'a-based banks may affect payments to some areas or institutions. No official page states how this applies to student fees, so payments must not be assumed possible.

Public university tuition
Not yet verifiedSource
Monthly living cost
Not yet verifiedSource
Visa processing time
No student-visa processing time stated (the 2-4 business days on the page refer to diplomatic/official visas).Source
Work rights
No official student work-rights rule found. Canada notes working or staying beyond visa terms is subject to Yemeni immigration rules; not stated for students.
Intakes and deadlines
Hadhramout University international scholarship 2025-2026: registration 15 Jan - 5 Apr 2026 (ended). UST says 2026/2027 admissions are open. No national intake calendar found; academic-year dates not verified.Source
Language requirement
Instruction is mainly Arabic. UST lists an English Business Administration programme; Hadhramout offers an Arabic-language programme for non-native speakers. No official test-score thresholds found.Source

Tuition and living costs

Public university tuition
Not yet verifiedSource
Private university tuition
Not yet verifiedSource
Monthly living cost
Not yet verifiedSource

Accommodation

Hadhramout's international scholarship includes university housing; no other official accommodation information.

When planning the total budget, separate one-off and monthly items. Budget planning guide

Visa and residence permit

No official Yemeni immigration page on student entry was reachable. The Embassy of Yemen in Washington states that student visas require a letter of acceptance from the Yemeni institution (nature and duration of study) and an invitation letter from the Republic of Yemen Department of Immigration; the same page says that embassy is not issuing tourist visas. Canada states student visas are required and are not issued on arrival. Every Western government source consulted advises against all travel to Yemen (see travelAdvisories); this record is informational and is not a recommendation to travel or to apply.

Visa processing time
No student-visa processing time stated (the 2-4 business days on the page refer to diplomatic/official visas).Source
Proof of funds
No official financial-proof amount found. (An Indian embassy page in Sana'a mentions a USD 2,000 bank guarantee for its own nationals; not a general rule and not used.)Source
Health insurance
No official insurance or health-cover rule for foreign students found; UK and Canadian advisories note insurance may be invalid for travel against advice.Source

Application steps

  1. Obtain a letter of acceptance from the Yemeni institution stating nature and duration of study (Embassy of Yemen Washington).
  2. Obtain an invitation letter from the Republic of Yemen Department of Immigration (same source).
  3. Apply at a Yemeni diplomatic mission: application form, original passport, photos, medical letter, fee (embassy page, US-resident procedure).
  4. Visa cannot be obtained on arrival (Canada).
  5. If staying over 14 days, register the passport with Yemeni immigration (Canada).

Documents required

  • Letter of acceptance from the institution
  • Invitation letter from the Department of Immigration
  • Completed application form
  • Original passport valid at least 6 months beyond intended departure
  • Two passport photos
  • Doctor's letter confirming absence of contagious disease
  • Prepaid return envelope (Washington postal procedure)

Travel advisories, sanctions and payments

Every government advisory consulted tells nationals not to travel to Yemen: UK (all travel, leave immediately), Canada (avoid all travel, including Socotra), Germany (travel warning, leave the country), US (Level 4 Do Not Travel, per search summary), Turkiye MFA (avoid unless unavoidable; Feb 2022, old). Embassies of UK, US and Germany in Sana'a are closed or suspended; consular help is severely limited or absent; commercial departure options are limited and airspace/flight disruption is possible.

Layered measures; this is a data summary, not legal advice. (1) UN: Security Council resolution 2140 regime (targeted asset freeze and travel ban on listed individuals/entities) extended by resolution 2801 (2025) to 14 Nov 2026, Panel of Experts to 15 Dec 2026; renewal pending at the time of access; arms embargo on listed persons stems from resolution 2216 (2015) (search-result summaries of UN press releases). (2) US: Yemen-related sanctions programme (E.O. 13611, 31 CFR Part 552, OFAC page fetched). State Department re-designated Ansarallah (Houthis) as a Foreign Terrorist Organization in March 2025; OFAC has designated Sana'a-based financial institutions (e.g. International Bank of Yemen, Yemen Kuwait Bank) and issued counter-terrorism general licenses (e.g. GL 22A for agricultural commodities/medicine/medical devices, GL 24A for non-commercial personal remittances); further designations of Houthi financial facilitators on 16 Jan 2026 (search-result summaries of OFAC/Treasury/State pages). (3) Practical effect on student payments (tuition, fees, remittances, bank transfers) into areas controlled by the Houthi authorities or via designated banks is NOT stated on any official student-facing page found; whether a given transfer is permitted must be checked against current OFAC/UN/EU texts and with the sending bank before any payment. No official page says tuition may or may not be paid to a specific Yemeni university.

Fees
USD 65 by money order payable to 'The Embassy of Yemen' for the Washington student-visa procedure; dual US-Yemeni citizens may be exempt with Yemeni ID. Other missions' fees not verified.Source

Nationality-specific notes: turkiye: Turkiye MFA 14 Feb 2022 announcement: avoid travel to Yemen unless unavoidable; follow MFA and Embassy Sana'a announcements. No Turkish-citizen student visa or entry rule for Yemen found.; russia: No Russia-specific official source found.; kazakhstan: No Kazakhstan-specific official source found.; ukraine: No Ukraine-specific official source found.; azerbaijan: No Azerbaijan-specific official source found.

Our visa consulting

Work rights and after graduation

No official student work-rights rule found. Canada notes working or staying beyond visa terms is subject to Yemeni immigration rules; not stated for students.

Language requirements and intakes

Language requirement
Instruction is mainly Arabic. UST lists an English Business Administration programme; Hadhramout offers an Arabic-language programme for non-native speakers. No official test-score thresholds found.Source
Intakes and deadlines
Hadhramout University international scholarship 2025-2026: registration 15 Jan - 5 Apr 2026 (ended). UST says 2026/2027 admissions are open. No national intake calendar found; academic-year dates not verified.Source

Language and exam preparation

Scholarships

bachelor programmes (all programmes offered)Direct application

Hadhramout University international student scholarships 2025-2026

Hadhramout University

Coverage
Tuition fees and university housing; no application fee listed
Deadline
15 Jan - 5 Apr 2026 (ended; page has date inconsistencies)
Eligibility
All nationalities; 500 scholarships; secondary grade at least 90% (medical/engineering/technical) or 80% (humanities, administrative, social, educational); certificate not older than 5 years; other programme requirements apply. Merit-based and competitive; number actually awarded to foreigners not stated.
Source
Arabic-language programme (560 credit hours)Direct application

Hadhramout University Arabic Language for Non-Native Speakers scholarship

Hadhramout University

Coverage
Tuition fees and university housing
Deadline
16 Jan - 28 Feb 2025 (ended)
Eligibility
General Secondary certificate not older than 5 years; all nationalities.
Source

Cities

Aden

Sana'a

Mukalla

Universities

Hadhramout University

Mukalla (Hadhramout) · Public

University of Aden

Aden · Public

Sana'a University

Sana'a · Public

Al-Ahgaff University

Mukalla (Hadhramout) · Private

University of Science and Technology (UST)

Aden (main campus; branches in several cities) · Private

Taiz University

Taiz · Public

Saba Region University

Marib · Public

Seiyun University

Seiyun · Public

Shabwah University

Public

Abyan University

Public

Lahj University

Public

Mahrah University

Public

Dhale University

Dhale · Public

Ibb University

Ibb · Public

Thamar University

Dhamar · Public

Albaydha University

Al Bayda · Public

Arab Academy for Administrative, Financial and Banking Sciences

Aden · Private

Al-Rayyan University

Mukalla · Private

Ibn Khaldun University

Aden · Private

22 May College for Medical Sciences

Taiz · Private

Imam Al-Shafi'i University for Islamic Sciences

Mukalla · Private

Al-Hikma University

Taiz · Private

Al-Adel University

Aden · Private

Al-Arab University

Mukalla · Private

The National University (Yemen)

Taiz · Private

University of the Holy Quran and Islamic Sciences

Mukalla · Private

Al-Iman University (Hadramaut branch)

Mukalla · Private

Al-Wasatiyah Sharia University for Islamic Sciences

Seiyun · Private

Radfan College for the Quran and its Sciences

Private

Al-Ataa University for Science and Technology

Taiz · Private

Al-Jund University for Science and Technology

Taiz · Private

Aden Gulf International University

Private

Al-Riyada University

Aden · Private

Lebanese International University (Yemen)

Aden · Private

International Islamic University (Yemen)

Lahj · Private

Al-Saeed University

Taiz · Private

Al-Rowad University

Taiz · Private

Modern Al-Awael University

Mukalla · Private

Socotra Archipelago University

Private

Modern University for Science and Technology

Private

Aden German International University

Aden · Private

Arab Gulf University (Yemen)

Lahj · Private

Tarim Islamic University

Tarim · Private

Modern Sciences University

Sana'a · Private

Ahl Al-Hadith University

Seiyun · Private

The Yemeni University

Sana'a · Private

Dar Al-Salam International University for Science and Technology

Sana'a · Private

Future University (Yemen)

Sana'a · Private

Al-Razi University

Sana'a · Private

Al-Nasser University

Sana'a · Private

Emirates International University

Sana'a · Private

Azal University for Human Development

Sana'a · Private

International University of Technology Twintech

Sana'a · Private

Queen Arwa University

Sana'a · Private

Yemeni Jordanian University

Sana'a · Private

Saba University

Sana'a · Private

Al-Saeedah University

Dhamar · Private

Al-Qalam University for Humanities and Applied Sciences

Ibb · Private

Guinness University of Science and Technology

Dhamar · Private

Ar-Rasheed Smart University

Sana'a · Private

Al-Jazeera University

Ibb · Private

Seiyun Community College

Seiyun · Public

All universities

Official resources

Frequently asked questions

Information on this page is compiled from official sources and was verified on the date shown. Fees, dates and visa rules change often; check official sources before applying. Empty fields have not been verified yet; ask our advisor for the current information.

Let us plan the right path for your goals

In a free initial consultation we review your profile, budget and goals, and narrow down the countries and universities that fit you.