Skip to content

Countries

Study in Saudi Arabia: costs, visa, scholarships and universities

Costs, visa process, work rights, scholarships and university options for studying in Saudi Arabia.

Overview

Saudi Arabia accepts international students through the Ministry of Education platform "Study in Saudi" (studyinsaudi.sa), which links applicants to public and private universities and lists three funding models: full scholarships, partial scholarships and self-funded paid study. Applicants apply to the institution through the platform; the institution reviews the application and, if approved, completes final admission with the Ministry. The platform names the Educational Visa, issued as short-term (up to six months) or long-term (one year, renewable) for study.

Public universities offer external scholarships for non-Saudis living abroad and internal scholarships for residents. The Ministry says external applicants need a scholarship from a Saudi university to obtain a study visa, with age limits of 17-25 for bachelor and Arabic programs, 30 for master and 35 for doctoral, plus home-country approval where required, certified documents, a police certificate and a medical examination. Benefits described include a monthly allowance, housing, health care and annual tickets, but amounts differ by university (for example KSU lists SAR 1,000 per month for scientific undergraduate majors).

Self-funded study is concentrated in private universities and in fee-based tracks. Alfaisal University publishes an undergraduate tuition of SAR 94,000 per year and requires proof of SAR 150,000 in funds; Prince Sultan University lists 96,000 per year for its bachelor programs on Study in Saudi. KAUST and KFUPM are research-focused institutions that fund admitted graduate students (KAUST fellowship stipend USD 20,000-30,000 per year; KFUPM scholarships for PhD and selected MS).

Costs and rules not found on official pages include a nationwide living-cost figure, student work rights, visa fees and processing times, and nationality-specific rules for Turkish, Russian, Kazakh, Ukrainian or Azerbaijani applicants. The UK FCDO currently advises against all but essential travel to Saudi Arabia (updated 21 October 2026), citing missile and drone attacks; students should check current advisories from their own government before travel. Arabic is widely used, local laws are strict (alcohol, drugs, online speech, dress), and Islamic law is strictly enforced.

Public university tuition
Public universities: external-scholarship international students study free of tuition (Ministry: full scholarships provided "free of charge"). Self-funded or fee-based options exist: Study in Saudi shows KSU Paid Study international programs at 74,520-77,280 per year (currency not printed), IMSIU resident paid bachelor 30,050-35,250 per year, KFUPM self-sponsored graduate USD 1,000-2,000 per semester plus USD 135 per credit hour.Source
Monthly living cost
No national student living-cost figure found on official pages. KAUST reports that surveyed students spend about USD 1,320 per month on average (survey date not stated; campus-specific, with housing and health insurance covered by the fellowship). Alfaisal requires proof of SAR 150,000 in funds for first-year tuition (not a living-cost estimate).Source
Visa processing time
No official processing time found. KFUPM says processing times "can vary greatly" and advises starting right after admission.Source
Work rights
No official rule on part-time work for international students found (Study in Saudi, Ministry of Education, HRSD home page, university pages). Not recorded as permitted or prohibited. Related fact (search-snippet): King Khalid University requires resident applicants to hold an iqama and not be authorized to work. HRSD Labor Law defines part-time work generally but does not address students.; postStudy: No official post-study stay or graduate work route found.Source
Intakes and deadlines
Fall intake with scholarship application windows around April-May (IUM 1447 AH window 19 Apr - 21 May 2026, search-snippet) and a second-semester window (Study in Saudi: 16 Sep - 6 Oct 2026 for international and resident students). Alfaisal Fall applications close 31 May and reopen in March; KAUST Fall 2027 starts 29 August 2027 (deadline 3 Jan 2027) with Spring 2027 PhD only (starts 17 Jan 2027).Source
Language requirement
Study in Saudi: long-term educational visa requires proof of proficiency in the language of study, except for Arabic studies. English-taught programs follow university thresholds: KAUST IELTS 7 (6.5 per section) / PTE 71; KFUPM graduate IELTS 6.0 (MS) or 6.5 (PhD), TOEFL iBT 70/80; Alfaisal requires TOEFL or IELTS (minimum not listed). Arabic-taught programs: IUM (search-snippet) does not require Arabic for admission but students take an Arabic course first; KSU offers an Arabic Language Preparatory Program (four semester levels, 20 hours per week).Source

Tuition and living costs

Public university tuition
Public universities: external-scholarship international students study free of tuition (Ministry: full scholarships provided "free of charge"). Self-funded or fee-based options exist: Study in Saudi shows KSU Paid Study international programs at 74,520-77,280 per year (currency not printed), IMSIU resident paid bachelor 30,050-35,250 per year, KFUPM self-sponsored graduate USD 1,000-2,000 per semester plus USD 135 per credit hour.Source
Private university tuition
Alfaisal University: undergraduate SAR 94,000 per year (47,000 per semester, 12+ credit hours); master SAR 200,000 total; PhD SAR 400,000 total; application fee SAR 600; VAT may apply. Study in Saudi: Alfaisal bachelor 108,100 per year, Prince Sultan University bachelor 96,000 per year (currency not printed), Al Yamamah University Accounting 36,800-42,550 per semester by campus (Khobar/Riyadh).Source
Monthly living cost
No national student living-cost figure found on official pages. KAUST reports that surveyed students spend about USD 1,320 per month on average (survey date not stated; campus-specific, with housing and health insurance covered by the fellowship). Alfaisal requires proof of SAR 150,000 in funds for first-year tuition (not a living-cost estimate).Source

Accommodation

Scholarship students at KSU, KFUPM, KAUST and KAU receive housing as part of benefits (not in all cases for married students). Self-funded students: Alfaisal housing information not published on pages read; contact OISE. Rental market information was not assessed.

When planning the total budget, separate one-off and monthly items. Budget planning guide

Visa and residence permit

Study in Saudi names an Educational Visa for international students and researchers at Saudi institutions, in a short-term form (study, training, language study or exchange up to six months, extendable by six months) and a long-term form (one year, renewable annually, for bachelor, master and doctoral study). The Ministry of Education states that applicants need a scholarship from a Saudi university to obtain a study visa at a Saudi embassy; the portal also lists paid-study programs, so the route for self-funded students (e.g. Alfaisal after a deposit) is arranged through the university. Scholarship recipients can obtain a free residence permit (iqama) for the study period using a letter from the university passport department (Ministry page); SAMA rulebook confirms student iqamas may be free for scholarship holders.

Visa processing time
No official processing time found. KFUPM says processing times "can vary greatly" and advises starting right after admission.Source
Proof of funds
Study in Saudi: proof of ability to cover tuition and living expenses, or a financial guarantee. Alfaisal: six-month bank statement showing 150,000 SAR and a 100,000 SAR deposit after acceptance.Source
Health insurance
Study in Saudi: long-term educational visa requires medical insurance covering the holder and dependents. Alfaisal: provide an insurance card or buy cover through the university after admission. KFUPM: Medical Center services free for students; international and exchange students need valid health insurance. KAUST fellowship includes health insurance for student and eligible on-campus dependents. CCHI (cchi.gov.sa) could not be reached.Source

Application steps

  1. Create a profile on studyinsaudi.sa and apply to a program (institution reviews; Ministry completes final admission).
  2. After admission the university/Ministry route handles visa referral; for Ministry scholarships apply through the Saudi Cultural Attaché or embassy in your country if applicable.
  3. Provide medical report (free of infectious diseases), valid passport, certified documents, financial proof or guarantee, language proof (not for Arabic studies) and medical insurance.
  4. Apply for the Educational Visa through the university-led process (KFUPM: university submits via Ministry of Foreign Affairs and emails the visa); enter Saudi Arabia.
  5. After arrival obtain a residence permit (iqama) via the university passport department (free for scholarship students); Absher/Muqeem are the government platforms for residency services (student-specific steps not confirmed on official pages read).

Documents required

  • Passport valid at least 6 months from intended entry (Study in Saudi); KFUPM: at least 6 months; Alfaisal: at least 1 year
  • Admission/acceptance from a licensed accredited Saudi institution
  • Proof of ability to cover tuition and living expenses or financial guarantee
  • Medical report confirming freedom from infectious diseases (long-term visa)
  • Medical insurance for holder and dependents (long-term visa)
  • Proof of proficiency in language of study, except Arabic studies
  • Written guardian consent if under 18
  • Attested certificates and documents required by the institution
  • Police certificate from home country and possible home-government approval (Ministry scholarship rules)
  • University-specific: embassy letter and MoFA visa-referral note (KFUPM)
Fees
Study in Saudi and the Ministry page list no visa fees; the MoFA visa portal home page gave no student-visa details. Alfaisal says student visa cost "varies".Source

Nationality-specific notes: No nationality-specific student-visa rules for Turkish, Russian, Kazakh, Ukrainian or Azerbaijani applicants found on the official pages read. Ministry rule: government approval from the applicant's home country where that country requires it. Some external scholarship tracks restrict gender or religion per university announcements.

Our visa consulting

Work rights and after graduation

No official rule on part-time work for international students found (Study in Saudi, Ministry of Education, HRSD home page, university pages). Not recorded as permitted or prohibited. Related fact (search-snippet): King Khalid University requires resident applicants to hold an iqama and not be authorized to work. HRSD Labor Law defines part-time work generally but does not address students.; postStudy: No official post-study stay or graduate work route found.

After graduation: No official post-study stay or job-search permit found for international graduates.

Source

Language requirements and intakes

Language requirement
Study in Saudi: long-term educational visa requires proof of proficiency in the language of study, except for Arabic studies. English-taught programs follow university thresholds: KAUST IELTS 7 (6.5 per section) / PTE 71; KFUPM graduate IELTS 6.0 (MS) or 6.5 (PhD), TOEFL iBT 70/80; Alfaisal requires TOEFL or IELTS (minimum not listed). Arabic-taught programs: IUM (search-snippet) does not require Arabic for admission but students take an Arabic course first; KSU offers an Arabic Language Preparatory Program (four semester levels, 20 hours per week).Source
Intakes and deadlines
Fall intake with scholarship application windows around April-May (IUM 1447 AH window 19 Apr - 21 May 2026, search-snippet) and a second-semester window (Study in Saudi: 16 Sep - 6 Oct 2026 for international and resident students). Alfaisal Fall applications close 31 May and reopen in March; KAUST Fall 2027 starts 29 August 2027 (deadline 3 Jan 2027) with Spring 2027 PhD only (starts 17 Jan 2027).Source

Language and exam preparation

Scholarships

Bachelor, master, PhD, Arabic-language programsVia the university

Saudi Ministry of Education external scholarships for international students (Study in Saudi)

Ministry of Education / Saudi public universities

Coverage
Full scholarship (tuition, housing, living per portal), partial scholarship (e.g. seat only or seat plus housing) or paid grants; external benefits: health care (family where regulations allow), arrival reward, housing, annual tickets (Ministry page). Amounts set by university.
Deadline
Per university calendar; second-semester 2026 window 16 Sep - 6 Oct (platform)
Eligibility
Age 17-25 (bachelor/Arabic), 30 (master), 35 (PhD); home-country approval where required; no other Saudi scholarship; certified documents, police certificate, medical exam; mahram requirement under regulations (Ministry summary); not for those already holding a scholarship for the same degree.
Source
Bachelor (non-residents)Via the university

King Saud University external scholarship

King Saud University

Coverage
Free education, free housing depending on marital status, monthly stipend (SAR 1,000 scientific / 850 theoretical undergraduate; 900 graduate), arrival allowance of two months stipend, return ticket in summer, free healthcare at university medical centre, discounted meals.
Deadline
Not stated
Eligibility
SAT 1010+, age 17-25, diploma within 5 years, no prior bachelor, medical exam; Medicine/Dentistry interview, Architecture written test.
Source
MS, PhDDirect application

KAUST Fellowship

KAUST

Coverage
Tuition and bench fees (up to USD 35,000 per year), stipend USD 20,000 (MS) / 25,000-30,000 (PhD) per year, housing, health insurance, relocation; total value about USD 70-80k per year.
Deadline
Round 2 (Fall 2027): 3 Jan 2027; Spring 2027 PhD: 27 Sep 2026 (passed)
Eligibility
Merit-based; GPA >= 3.0/4.0; English proof; some externally sponsored students may be ineligible; no application fee.
Source
BachelorDirect application

KFUPM international undergraduate scholarship

KFUPM

Coverage
Tuition waived, free on-campus housing, free course texts, monthly stipend (amount not listed), medical services at campus clinic.
Eligibility
SAT 1350+ (SAT track) or top-four ISEF winner; international natural-sciences high school graduate living outside Saudi Arabia.
Source
PhD and selected MSDirect application

KFUPM graduate scholarships

KFUPM

Coverage
Stipend by category, furnished on-campus housing, air tickets, medical and dental coverage, subsidised meals, research-assistant roles, conference funding (conditions), free textbooks.
Eligibility
GPA 3.00; IELTS 6.0 (MS) / 6.5 (PhD).
Source
Bachelor, master, PhD, Arabic Language DiplomaVia the university

King Abdulaziz University international scholarships

King Abdulaziz University

Coverage
Typically tuition, accommodation and living expenses; housing, reduced-price food, annual tickets / ticket compensation, health care for student and family (amounts not stated).
Eligibility
Specific eligibility not on fetched pages; Study in Saudi graduate listings marked Full scholarship for international applicants.
Source
Bachelor (international); postgraduate listed as partial scholarshipsVia the university

Islamic University of Madinah international scholarships

Islamic University of Madinah

Coverage
Partial scholarships per Study in Saudi; amounts not listed (search summary: free ticket, monthly allowance, furnished housing for one science track).
Deadline
1447 AH window 19 Apr - 21 May 2026 (closed; search-snippet)
Eligibility
Age 17-25 for bachelor; not resident in the Kingdom; some tracks restricted by gender/religion (search-snippet).
Source
BachelorVia the university

Alfaisal University merit and need-based discounts

Alfaisal University

Coverage
20% of tuition (merit, CGPA 3.25 maintained), 20% need-based, 50% Distinguished Science, 20% Dean's List.
Deadline
Need-based: 28 July
Eligibility
International students eligible; third-party sponsored students not eligible; scholarships limited.
Source

Cities

Riyadh

Jeddah

Dhahran / Al Khobar

Madinah

Thuwal

Mecca, Buraydah and Al-Ahsa

Universities

King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST)

Thuwal · Public

Tuition and bench fees (stated as worth up to USD 35,000 per year) are fully covered by the KAUST Fellowship; stipend USD 20,000 per year for MS and USD 25,000-30,000 per year for PhD; base accommodation (shared for single students), health insurance and relocation (visa, travel) support included. Some students with external sponsorship or funding may not be eligible. More than 90% of admitted students receive funding support (admissions homepage).

King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals (KFUPM)

Dhahran · Public

Undergraduate international students living outside Saudi Arabia: tuition waived (full scholarship) with free on-campus housing, free course texts, monthly stipend (amount not listed) and clinic services. Graduate scholarships cover all PhD programs and selected MS programs: stipend by category, furnished on-campus housing, air tickets, medical/dental, subsidised meals. Self-sponsored fees (USD): non-thesis programs 2,000 registration per semester + 135 per credit hour; thesis programs 2,000 first semester then 1,000 per semester + 135 per credit hour.

King Saud University (KSU)

Riyadh · Public

External-scholarship international students: full scholarship (tuition covered). Study in Saudi lists indicative tuition values for international entries, e.g. Accounting 34,245 (Full Scholarship), Chemical Engineering 53,130 (Full Scholarship); Paid Study entries e.g. Biomedical Engineering 77,280 per year, Clinical Laboratory Sciences 76,360 per year. Currency not printed on the portal.

Imam Muhammad bin Saud Islamic University (IMSIU)

Riyadh · Public

External (international) applicants: partial scholarships in Arabic-language programs (e.g. Arabic Language, Fundamentals of Religion) with tuition amount not listed. Resident self-funded bachelor listings range from about 30,050 (Arabic Language, Journalism) to 35,250 per year (currency not stated); English-taught examples: Applied Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry 35,250; Information Technology 34,750.

Islamic University of Madinah

Madinah · Public

International applicants: partial scholarships (program-level) for bachelor, master and PhD per the portal; resident paid master/PhD listings 11,000 per semester or per year (currency not stated). Scholarship terms are set by the university.

Alfaisal University

Riyadh · Private

Undergraduate 94,000 SAR per year for all degrees (47,000 per semester for 12+ credit hours; 3,917 per credit hour below that); preparatory program 60,000 per year; master 200,000 for the full program; PhD 400,000 total; summer 3,133 per credit hour excluding 15% VAT. Application fee 600 SAR. International students must take at least 12 credit hours per semester. Study in Saudi lists 108,100 per year for bachelor programs (94,000 x 1.15 = 108,100 arithmetically; the portal does not state VAT).

Prince Sultan University (PSU)

Riyadh · Private

Study in Saudi: 96,000 per year for all 12 listed bachelor programs (5 years including a preparatory year; currency not printed). Search summary of psu.edu.sa (search-snippet): from 2025 SAR 3,000 per credit hour (2022-2024 cohorts SAR 2,200), minimum per semester equals 12 credit hours; 15% VAT on non-Saudi tuition; application fee SAR 500 (575 with VAT).

King Abdulaziz University (KAU)

Jeddah · Public

International scholarships generally cover tuition, accommodation and living expenses. Study in Saudi listing: graduate thesis programs shown as Full scholarship for international applicants (scholarship-covered); resident programs paid or partial (e.g. Computing & IT acceleration 35,000 reduced to 17,500 per semester).

Umm Al-Qura University

Makkah · Public

King Faisal University

Alahsa · Public

King Khalid University

Asser · Public

Qassim University

Alqassem · Public

Taibah University

Almadinah · Public

Taif University

Altaif · Public

University of Ha'il

Hail · Public

Jazan University

Jazan · Public

Jouf University

Skaka · Public

Al-Baha University

Albaha · Public

University of Tabuk

Tabuk · Public

Najran University

Najran · Public

Northern Border University

Northern Border · Public

Princess Nourah Bint Abdul Rahman University

Riyadh · Public

King Saud bin Abdulaziz University for Health Sciences

Riyadh · Public

Imam Abdulrahman bin Faisal University

Riyadh · Public

Prince Sattam bin Abdulaziz University

Alkharj · Public

Shaqra University

Shaqra · Public

Majmaah University

Almajmaah · Public

Saudi Electronic University

Riyadh · Public

University of Jeddah

Jeddah · Public

University of Bisha

Bisha · Public

University of Hafr Al Batin

Hafr Al Batin · Public

Arab Open University

Riyadh · Private

University of Business and Technology

Jeddah · Private

Fahad bin Sultan University

Tabuk · Private

Prince Mohammad bin Fahd University

Alkhobar · Private

University of Prince Mugrin

Almadinah · Private

Al Yamamah University

Riyadh · Private

Dar Al Uloom University

Riyadh · Private

Effat University

Jeddah · Private

Dar Al-Hekma University

Jeddah · Private

Riyadh Elm University

Private

Al Maarefa University

Riyadh · Private

Mustaqbal University

Buraidah · Private

Al Asala Colleges

Dammam · Private

Gulf Colleges

Hafr Albatin · Private

Sulaiman Al Rajhi University

Alqassim · Private

Onaizah Colleges

Alqassim · Private

Ibn Rushd College

Abha · Private

Ibn Sina National College

Jeddah · Private

Al-Baha Private College of Science

Albaha · Private

Batterjee Medical College

Jeddah · Private

Al-Riyada College for Health Science

Jeddah · Private

Al-Rayan College

Almadinah · Private

Arab East College

Riyadh · Private

Inaya Medical Colleges

Riyadh · Private

Al Ghad International College for Applied Medical Science

Riyadh · Private

Buraydah College

Buraidah · Private

Jeddah International College

Jeddah · Private

Saad College of Nursing and Allied Health Sciences

Alkhobar · Private

Fakeeh College for Medical Science

Jeddah · Private

Mihammad Al Mana College for Medical Science

Dammam · Private

Prince Sultan College of Business

Jeddah · Private

Vision Colleges in Jeddah

Jeddah · Private

Northen College of Nursing

Arar · Private

ALFAYHA COLLEGE

Eastern Province, Jubail Industrial City · Private

ALMOOSA COLLEGE OF HEALTH SCIENCE

Al-Ahsa Governorate · Private

All universities

Official resources

Frequently asked questions

Information on this page is compiled from official sources and was verified on the date shown. Fees, dates and visa rules change often; check official sources before applying. Empty fields have not been verified yet; ask our advisor for the current information.

Let us plan the right path for your goals

In a free initial consultation we review your profile, budget and goals, and narrow down the countries and universities that fit you.