Skip to content

Countries

Study in Sudan: costs, visa, scholarships and universities

Costs, visa process, work rights, scholarships and university options for studying in Sudan.

Overview

Sudan has been in armed conflict between the Sudanese Armed Forces and the Rapid Support Forces since April 2023. The UK FCDO and Canada advise against all travel to Sudan, Germany maintains a travel warning together with a call for German nationals to leave, and the Turkish Ministry of Foreign Affairs advice (8 May 2025 notice, reaffirming 27 December 2023) is to avoid travel unless essential. The US State Department rating could not be read directly (see visa.travelAdvisories). These pages should be read before anything else in this file.

Several official Sudanese universities continue to publish activity. The University of Khartoum's Faculty of Engineering announced in-person classes at its own premises for 2026/27 starting 24 October 2026, and the International University of Africa in Khartoum reported campus events on 25 October 2026. This does not by itself indicate that travel or study as a foreign student is possible or advisable; the governments above state that their consular help in Sudan is absent or severely limited.

Published information for foreign applicants is thin. Sudan University of Science and Technology publishes average fees for international students (USD 3,000 per semester undergraduate; USD 7,500 master's; USD 9,500 PhD, with one higher PhD track), and the International University of Africa announced 1,000 full and partial scholarships for international students with an application window of 10 August to 15 September 2026 (now closed). Undergraduate admission is described as running through an online system of Sudan's Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research. No official student-visa category, residence procedure, work-right rule or cost-of-living figure was found.

Entry and payments are constrained. The UK, Canada and Germany state that a visa is required, and Canada and Germany state that foreign bank cards are not usable and cash (USD/EUR) is needed. Land borders are described by Germany as closed or frequently restricted and international flights to Khartoum as suspended. Whether tuition can be transferred from a given country or bank was not verified and must be confirmed in writing with the university and the sending bank.

Public university tuition
Only one public-university data point was found: Sudan University of Science and Technology (SUST) states average fees for international students of USD 3,000 per semester (undergraduate), USD 7,500 (master's), USD 9,500 (PhD, except PhD in Computer Science by taught courses and research at USD 15,500); home students USD 115 per semester undergraduate. The page does not state the date of the schedule or whether master's/PhD amounts are per year or total. No sector-wide official fee schedule for foreign students was found.Source
Monthly living cost
Not yet verified
Visa processing time
Canada: apply at least 2 months before travel; approval is not automatic.Source
Work rights
No official source on student work rights in Sudan found.; postStudy: Post-study stay rules not found.
Intakes and deadlines
No official intake calendar for foreign applicants found. Observed dated items only: University of Khartoum Faculty of Engineering announced registration from 10 Oct 2026 and in-person classes for 2026/27 from 24 Oct 2026 (faculty notice on uofk.edu); the International University of Africa scholarship application window ran 10 Aug to 15 Sep 2026; University of Gezira lists an academic calendar PDF dated 30 Jun 2026 (not read).Source
Language requirement
The International University of Africa states Arabic is the language of instruction in all undergraduate faculties, with English as an auxiliary language in the medical colleges. No official language-test requirement (Arabic or English) for foreign applicants was found for any listed university.Source

Tuition and living costs

Public university tuition
Only one public-university data point was found: Sudan University of Science and Technology (SUST) states average fees for international students of USD 3,000 per semester (undergraduate), USD 7,500 (master's), USD 9,500 (PhD, except PhD in Computer Science by taught courses and research at USD 15,500); home students USD 115 per semester undergraduate. The page does not state the date of the schedule or whether master's/PhD amounts are per year or total. No sector-wide official fee schedule for foreign students was found.Source
Private university tuition
Not yet verifiedSource
Monthly living cost
Not yet verified

Accommodation

No official information on accommodation for foreign students found beyond the International University of Africa scholarship announcement listing housing services as a possible benefit.

When planning the total budget, separate one-off and monthly items. Budget planning guide

Visa and residence permit

UK FCDO, Canada and Germany all state a visa is required to enter Sudan, applied for at a Sudanese embassy or consulate (Canada: tourist, business, student and transit; apply at least 2 months ahead, approval not automatic). Passports must be valid at least 6 months (UK: after arrival; Canada: beyond departure; Germany: at entry). Foreigners must register with the Aliens' Registration Office / Aliens Department within 3 days of arrival (UK, Canada). Entry is refused if the passport carries an Israeli stamp (UK, Canada). Yellow fever: the UK page states a certificate is required, the Canadian page states proof is not required to enter; check with the Sudanese mission. The UK mentions an exit visa may be needed for single-entry visa holders, not always enforced. Germany states land borders are closed or frequently restricted, and international flights to Khartoum are suspended while Port Sudan airport serves some regional destinations. A student-specific entry category, its documents, fees and the residence-permit procedure were not found on an official Sudanese source.

Visa processing time
Canada: apply at least 2 months before travel; approval is not automatic.Source
Proof of funds
No official proof-of-funds requirement for student visas found.Source
Health insurance
No official student health-insurance requirement found. Canada states healthcare is inadequate and has worsened since the conflict began, medical evacuation is difficult and travellers should hold insurance that includes medevac; the UK states travel against FCDO advice may invalidate travel insurance.Source

Application steps

  1. Read the current government travel advice (visa.travelAdvisories) before any decision; the UK, Canada and Germany advise against travel and state consular help in Sudan is absent or severely limited.
  2. Obtain written admission information from the university; undergraduate applications are described by SUST as made through the online admission system of Sudan's Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research.
  3. Confirm the visa category and documents for your passport with the nearest Sudanese embassy or consulate (e.g. the Embassy of Sudan in your country); Canada advises applying at least 2 months ahead.
  4. On arrival, register with the Aliens' Registration Office within 3 days (UK, Canada). Residence-permit procedure for students: not verified from an official source.

Documents required

  • Passport valid at least 6 months (UK, Canada, Germany).
  • Visa from a Sudanese embassy or consulate (UK, Canada, Germany).
  • Two passport-sized photos for Aliens Department registration (UK).
  • Minors: father's consent letter may be required (UK, Canada).

Travel advisories, sanctions and payments

As of 2026-10-26: UK FCDO 'advises against all travel to Sudan' (page updated 11 May 2026; Hala'ib Triangle and Bir Tawil: against all but essential travel); British Embassy Khartoum is closed, no British consular staff in Sudan, no evacuations, travel against advice may invalidate insurance. Canada 'Avoid all travel' (updated 13 Oct 2026), citing armed conflict, frequent drone attacks including Khartoum and Port Sudan, kidnapping and terrorism risk, crime, closed or unpredictable land borders and landmines, fuel and power shortages; Canadians in Sudan are told to leave if safe; no Canadian office in Sudan (Addis Ababa district). Germany (Auswaertiges Amt) maintains a Reisewarnung and an Ausreiseaufforderung (call to leave); the German embassy in Khartoum is closed; the page's 'Aktuelles' list shows an entry dated 25 Aug 2026. Turkiye Ministry of Foreign Affairs: notice of 8 May 2025 states that the notice of 27 Dec 2023 remains valid and asks citizens to avoid travel to Sudan unless essential and those present who are not essential to leave by the fastest safe route; no later Sudan notice appears in the ministry's announcement list read on 2026-10-26. US State Department (page read 2026-10-26): Level 4 'Do Not Travel', date issued 15 May 2026, citing unrest/armed conflict, crime, kidnapping, terrorism, landmines and health threats; the US Embassy in Khartoum suspended operations in April 2023 and no routine or emergency consular services are available.

United States (OFAC program page, read 2026-10-26): the Sudan national emergency remains in effect; sanctions under E.O. 14098 (4 May 2023) and E.O. 13400 (2006, Darfur) are in force and target designated persons; the broad Sudanese Sanctions Regulations were removed in 2018 and Sudan's State Sponsor of Terrorism designation was rescinded on 14 Dec 2020, so US persons are not broadly prohibited from transactions with Sudan. European Union: not verified from an official page (Council of the EU page blocked by a browser check). United Kingdom: not verified. Payments in practice: Canada states transferring USD or CAD into Sudan is difficult due to international sanctions, foreign debit and credit cards are not accepted, ATMs serve local accounts only and international flights and hotels must be paid in cash (USD widely accepted). Germany states foreign credit and bank cards cannot be used in Sudan, access to cash is restricted and USD or EUR cash should be carried. Whether tuition can be transferred from Turkiye, Russia, Kazakhstan, Ukraine or Azerbaijan, or from a specific bank, was not verified and must be confirmed in writing with the university and the sending bank.

Fees
Student visa and residence-permit fees not found on an official Sudanese source; the UK page mentions a registration fee without an amount.Source

Our visa consulting

Work rights and after graduation

No official source on student work rights in Sudan found.; postStudy: Post-study stay rules not found.

After graduation: No official source on post-study stay.

Language requirements and intakes

Language requirement
The International University of Africa states Arabic is the language of instruction in all undergraduate faculties, with English as an auxiliary language in the medical colleges. No official language-test requirement (Arabic or English) for foreign applicants was found for any listed university.Source
Intakes and deadlines
No official intake calendar for foreign applicants found. Observed dated items only: University of Khartoum Faculty of Engineering announced registration from 10 Oct 2026 and in-person classes for 2026/27 from 24 Oct 2026 (faculty notice on uofk.edu); the International University of Africa scholarship application window ran 10 Aug to 15 Sep 2026; University of Gezira lists an academic calendar PDF dated 30 Jun 2026 (not read).Source

Language and exam preparation

Scholarships

Direct application

International University of Africa - 1,000 full and partial scholarships for international students (2026)

International University of Africa

Coverage
Per the university announcement (11 Aug 2026): depending on scholarship type and conditions, tuition exemption, insurance and basic medical services, and housing services. Fields named: medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, engineering, computer science, media, Sharia and law, economics and political science.
Deadline
2026-09-15 (application window 10 Aug to 15 Sep 2026; closed as of 2026-10-26)
Eligibility
Announcement is in Arabic; eligibility criteria and the registration form were not read (form link on the news page). Whether a 2027 round exists is not stated. Does not imply entry or travel is possible; see visa.travelAdvisories.
Source

Cities

Khartoum

Wad Madani

Port Sudan

Universities

University of Khartoum

Khartoum · Public

University of Gezira

Wad Madani · Public

International University of Africa

Khartoum · Private

Sudan University of Science and Technology (SUST)

Khartoum

International students: undergraduate USD 3,000 per semester; Master programme USD 7,500; PhD programme USD 9,500 (except PhD in Computer Science by taught courses and research: USD 15,500). Home students: undergraduate USD 115 per semester; postgraduate USD 2,000. Page does not state whether master's/PhD amounts are per year or total, or the date of the schedule.

Omdurman Islamic University

Omdurman · Public

Sudan University of Science and Technology

Khartoum · Public

University of the Holy Quran and Islamic Sciences

Omdurman · Public

Nile Valley University

Atbara · Public

University of Kordofan

El Obeid · Public

University of El Fasher

El Fasher · Public

University of the Holy Quran and Islamic Orientation

Wad Medani · Public

Al-Neelain University

Khartoum · Public

Al Zaiem Al Azhari University

Khartoum Bahri · Public

University of Shendi

Shendi · Public

University of Dongola

Dongola · Public

Red Sea University

Port Sudan · Public

University of Kassala

Kassala · Public

University of Gadarif

Gedaref · Public

University of Sinnar

Sennar · Public

University of El Imam El Mahdi

Kosti · Public

University of Dalanj

Dilling · Public

University of Nyala

Nyala · Public

University of Zalingei

Zalingei · Public

Karary University

Omdurman · Public

Blue Nile University

Ad-Damazin · Public

University of Bakht Al-Ruda

Ed Dueim · Public

West Kordofan University

En Nahud · Public

Open University of Sudan

Public

Sudan Technological University

Public

University of Al Butana

Rufaa · Public

Peace University

Al-Fula · Public

University of Bahri

Khartoum Bahri · Public

University of Geneina

El Geneina · Public

Abdul Latif Al-Hamad University of Technology

Merowe · Public

University of El Daein

Ed Daein · Public

Al Managil University of Science and Technology

Al-Managil · Public

University of East Kordofan

Abu Jubayhah · Public

Technological University

Khartoum · Public

Khartoum International Institute for Arabic Language

Khartoum

Islamic Institute for Translation

Khartoum

Ahfad University for Women

Omdurman · Private

Omdurman Ahlia University

Omdurman · Private

Sudan International University

Khartoum · Private

Future University

Khartoum · Private

Al-Nasr University

Omdurman · Private

University of Science and Applied Studies

Khartoum · Private

Al-Bayan University

Khartoum · Private

Wad Medani Ahlia University

Wad Medani · Private

University of Science and Technology

Omdurman · Private

University of Medical Sciences and Technology

Khartoum · Private

East University for Science and Technology

Kassala · Private

Port Sudan Ahlia University

Port Sudan · Private

Ibn Sina University

Khartoum · Private

White Nile University

Kosti · Private

National Ribat University

Khartoum · Private

University of Health Sciences

Khartoum · Private

Al Razi University

Khartoum · Private

Elsheikh Abdallah Elbadri University

Berber · Private

Mashreq University

Khartoum Bahri · Private

Garden City University

Khartoum · Private

Nile University

Khartoum Bahri · Private

Delta University for Science and Technology

Omdurman · Private

National University

Khartoum · Private

AlMughtaribeen University

Khartoum · Private

East Sudan University for Science and Technology

Port Sudan · Private

Wad Medani University for Science and Technology

Wad Medani · Private

Sudan Academy for Banking and Financial Sciences

Khartoum

Al-Manhal Academy for Sciences

Khartoum Bahri

Higher Academy for Strategic and Security Studies

Khartoum

Sudan Academy for Aviation Science and Technology

Khartoum

Al-Qurra Academy

Khartoum Bahri

Mirghani Mahgoub Academy for Rainfed Agriculture

Gedaref

Taj Al-Hafizeen International Academy

Khartoum

All universities

Official resources

Frequently asked questions

Information on this page is compiled from official sources and was verified on the date shown. Fees, dates and visa rules change often; check official sources before applying. Empty fields have not been verified yet; ask our advisor for the current information.

Let us plan the right path for your goals

In a free initial consultation we review your profile, budget and goals, and narrow down the countries and universities that fit you.