Skip to content

Lebanon

Lebanon: Costs

Tuition fees and monthly living costs in Lebanon.

Tuition and living costs

Public university tuition
Lebanese University (public) publishes enrolment fees in Lebanese pounds, higher for Arab and foreign students than for Lebanese and Palestinian students, paid in one installment (the page does not state the period). Applied faculties and institutes: bachelor LBP 60,735,000 (Lebanese/Palestinian 13,235,000), master/postgraduate LBP 100,735,000 (Lebanese/Palestinian 18,235,000), PhD LBP 300,735,000 (Lebanese/Palestinian 23,235,000), plus NSSF fee LBP 8,400,000, CEE and admission test fees LBP 500,000 each, foreign-language training fee LBP 50,000. Non-applied faculties (Letters and Human Sciences, Law/Political and Administrative Sciences, Institute of Social Science): bachelor LBP 60,585,000, master LBP 100,585,000, PhD LBP 300,585,000, plus NSSF LBP 8,400,000. Postal stamp LBP 50,000 and a certified passport copy are required documents. No USD conversion is stated by the university and none is derived here.Source
Private university tuition
Private universities charge per credit hour, mostly in USD (2026-2027 where stated). AUB undergraduate (first 15 credits per semester; minimum 12): 732 (Nursing) to 1,044 (Financial Economics) USD per credit, Engineering and Architecture 1,022, Business 990; graduate 1,006-1,281 USD per credit; MD first to fourth year 47,903 USD (unit not stated on the schedule, probably per academic year). LAU undergraduate 809-1,056 USD per credit (about 9,702-12,705 USD per term), MD 39,165 USD per year (new students 2026-2027), PharmD 30,555 USD per year, graduate 902-1,043 USD per credit. NDU undergraduate 380-470 USD per credit (graduate 520-765) plus a technology and student services fee of 500 USD per semester. USJ guide 2026-2027 lists costs marked 'cost 2025-2026': 178-287 USD per credit for most undergraduate degrees, 268 for engineering, 424 for MD, with 70 percent payable in USD and 30 percent in LBP at the real rate. Balamand 2026-2027 charges both a USD and an LBP amount per credit (for example Engineering 535 USD plus 3,910,000 LBP; Business 480 USD plus 3,550,000 LBP; Sciences 485 USD plus 3,590,000 LBP); Medicine 31,000 USD per year. BAU 2026-2027 (new students) likewise charges USD plus LBP per credit (for example Engineering 228 USD plus LBP 10,988,250; Business Administration and Computer Science 150-160 USD plus LBP 7.2-7.7 million) and fees rise 5 percent annually. LIU lists USD per credit without a year: Business 179, Engineering and Computer Science 215, Arts and Sciences 169, Pharmacy 299. Amounts are university-published and may change.Source
Monthly living cost
Indicative only, from one university's incoming-student guide (LAU, undated, marked 'subject to change'): accommodation within Beirut 600-1,000 USD per month, outside Beirut 400-660 USD per month, food about 300 USD per month, leisure about 150 USD per month. University dorm fees published for 2026-2027: AUB on-campus 1,665-2,290 USD per semester (off-campus dormitory 1,880-4,100), NDU shared room 1,300 USD per semester and single 2,000 USD, Balamand 900-1,610 USD (period not stated). Health coverage, NSSF and liability charges are extra (see healthInsurance). No government cost-of-living figure found; official travel advice stresses that US dollars in cash are the main currency.Source

Accommodation

AUB: six residence halls on campus (four for women, two for men) and one off campus for women; dorm fees 2026-2027 per semester on campus double room 1,665 USD (Penrose 2,290; semi-private for women 2,080; triple for men 2,080), off-campus Sidani dormitory double 2,080, private 4,000, suite 4,100, semi-private 1,880 USD. NDU student housing: shared room 1,300 USD per semester (Fall/Spring), 450 USD summer; single 2,000 USD and 700 USD; deposit 200 or 300 USD, payment in cash USD. Balamand residences (Beit Talibat, La Maresa): single 1,265-1,610 USD, double 900-945 USD, suite 1,360 USD (period not stated on the PDF). LAU on-campus housing exists but its fee page was not read. USJ has a student dormitory on Damascus Road, Beirut. Lebanese University dorms are for undergraduates of the Hadath campus faculties and the application is in Arabic only.

When planning the total budget, separate one-off and monthly items. Budget planning guide

What to watch for in Costs

  • Calculate tuition, living costs and insurance/visa costs separately.
  • Verify fees on the university's own page; programmes can differ greatly.
  • Add a margin each year for currency and exchange-rate risk.
  • Research scholarship and discount options before applying.

Information on this page is compiled from official sources and was verified on the date shown. Fees, dates and visa rules change often; check official sources before applying. Empty fields have not been verified yet; ask our advisor for the current information.

Let us plan the right path for your goals

In a free initial consultation we review your profile, budget and goals, and narrow down the countries and universities that fit you.