
City guide
Riyadh: studying in Saudi Arabia
Verified information about Riyadh in Saudi Arabia and the universities located there.
Verified facts about Riyadh
- Hosts King Saud University, Imam Muhammad bin Saud Islamic University, Alfaisal University and Prince Sultan University.
- King Khalid International Airport was struck by a missile on 10 October 2026 per UK FCDO; FCDO advises staying away from the airport.
Universities in Riyadh
King Saud University (KSU)
Riyadh · Public
External-scholarship international students: full scholarship (tuition covered). Study in Saudi lists indicative tuition values for international entries, e.g. Accounting 34,245 (Full Scholarship), Chemical Engineering 53,130 (Full Scholarship); Paid Study entries e.g. Biomedical Engineering 77,280 per year, Clinical Laboratory Sciences 76,360 per year. Currency not printed on the portal.
Imam Muhammad bin Saud Islamic University (IMSIU)
Riyadh · Public
External (international) applicants: partial scholarships in Arabic-language programs (e.g. Arabic Language, Fundamentals of Religion) with tuition amount not listed. Resident self-funded bachelor listings range from about 30,050 (Arabic Language, Journalism) to 35,250 per year (currency not stated); English-taught examples: Applied Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry 35,250; Information Technology 34,750.
Alfaisal University
Riyadh · Private
Undergraduate 94,000 SAR per year for all degrees (47,000 per semester for 12+ credit hours; 3,917 per credit hour below that); preparatory program 60,000 per year; master 200,000 for the full program; PhD 400,000 total; summer 3,133 per credit hour excluding 15% VAT. Application fee 600 SAR. International students must take at least 12 credit hours per semester. Study in Saudi lists 108,100 per year for bachelor programs (94,000 x 1.15 = 108,100 arithmetically; the portal does not state VAT).
Prince Sultan University (PSU)
Riyadh · Private
Study in Saudi: 96,000 per year for all 12 listed bachelor programs (5 years including a preparatory year; currency not printed). Search summary of psu.edu.sa (search-snippet): from 2025 SAR 3,000 per credit hour (2022-2024 cohorts SAR 2,200), minimum per semester equals 12 credit hours; 15% VAT on non-Saudi tuition; application fee SAR 500 (575 with VAT).
Princess Nourah Bint Abdul Rahman University
Riyadh · Public
King Saud bin Abdulaziz University for Health Sciences
Riyadh · Public
Imam Abdulrahman bin Faisal University
Riyadh · Public
Saudi Electronic University
Riyadh · Public
Arab Open University
Riyadh · Private
Al Yamamah University
Riyadh · Private
Dar Al Uloom University
Riyadh · Private
Al Maarefa University
Riyadh · Private
Arab East College
Riyadh · Private
Inaya Medical Colleges
Riyadh · Private
Al Ghad International College for Applied Medical Science
Riyadh · Private
Cost information for Saudi Arabia
The information below is not specific to Riyadh; it applies to Saudi Arabia as a whole.
- Monthly living cost (country-level)
- No national student living-cost figure found on official pages. KAUST reports that surveyed students spend about USD 1,320 per month on average (survey date not stated; campus-specific, with housing and health insurance covered by the fellowship). Alfaisal requires proof of SAR 150,000 in funds for first-year tuition (not a living-cost estimate).Source
- Accommodation (country-level)
- Scholarship students at KSU, KFUPM, KAUST and KAU receive housing as part of benefits (not in all cases for married students). Self-funded students: Alfaisal housing information not published on pages read; contact OISE. Rental market information was not assessed.Source
Let us plan the right path for your goals
In a free initial consultation we review your profile, budget and goals, and narrow down the countries and universities that fit you.
Information on this page is compiled from official sources and was verified on the date shown. Fees, dates and visa rules change often; check official sources before applying. Empty fields have not been verified yet; ask our advisor for the current information.