Skip to content

City guide

Beirut: studying in Lebanon

Verified information about Beirut in Lebanon and the universities located there.

Verified facts about Beirut

  • Home to AUB (College Hall, Riad El Solh), LAU's Beirut campus, USJ's six Beirut campuses on Damascus Road and in Mar Roukos, BAU's Beirut campus and LIU's headquarters at Mousaitbeh (university sites).
  • UK FCDO advises against all travel to the southern suburbs and listed Beirut areas, excluding Route 51 to the airport; Germany warns against the southern suburbs (Dahieh).
  • LAU's guide quotes accommodation in Beirut at 600-1,000 USD per month (university estimate).

Universities in Beirut

American University of Beirut (AUB)

Beirut · Private

2026-2027 schedule (one schedule, not split by nationality), USD per credit; undergraduate charged for the first 15 credits per semester, minimum 12: Freshmen 881; Humanities and Social Sciences 855; Sciences 907; Financial Economics 1,044; Agricultural and Food Sciences 924; Engineering and Architecture 1,022; Health Sciences 953; Business 990; Nursing 732. Graduate per credit 1,006 (Nursing) to 1,281 (Engineering and Architecture). MD first to fourth year 47,903 USD (unit not stated). Master's thesis fees 7,908-9,227 USD. Online programmes 300-900 USD per credit.

Lebanese American University (LAU)

Beirut · Private

2026-2027 'fresh' USD, one schedule not split by nationality. Undergraduate per term / per credit: Arts and Sciences programmes 10,815 / 902 (Education, English, Psychology, Political Science/International Affairs, Translation 9,702 / 809; Mathematics 10,773 / 898); Business 11,487 / 957; Engineering 11,776 / 982; Architecture and Design 11,865 / 989; Pharmacy B.S. 12,590 / 1,049; Nursing (new students) 8,295 / 692; Freshman 9,765 / 812. Annual: MD (new students) 39,165; PharmD 30,555. Graduate per credit 902-1,043 USD (MBA 1,022). Online master's 580 USD per credit.

Saint Joseph University of Beirut (USJ)

Beirut · Private

Guide 2026-2027 prints costs marked 'cost 2025-2026'; 70% of the credit cost is paid in USD and 30% in LBP at the real dollar rate. Examples (USD per credit): Business School bachelor and master 183; Engineering (ESIB) bachelor 268, Master in Data Science 192, Master in AI 108; Speech and Language Therapy bachelor and master 187; IGE bachelor 183; Medicine MD 424 (years 1-6). PhD 108-150 per credit. The guide lists no separate international rate; new international scholarships are suspended.

Lebanese University (LU)

Beirut region (Rafik Hariri University Campus, Hadath) and regional branches · Public

Enrolment fees in LBP, paid in one installment: Arab and foreign students bachelor 60,735,000 (applied faculties) or 60,585,000 (non-applied faculties); master 100,735,000 / 100,585,000; PhD 300,735,000 / 300,585,000; Lebanese and Palestinian students pay LBP 13.1-23.2 million depending on level. Plus NSSF LBP 8,400,000, CEE and admission test fees LBP 500,000, foreign-language training fee LBP 50,000.

Beirut Arab University (BAU)

Beirut (Debbieh, Tripoli and Bekaa campuses also) · Private

2026-2027, new students; per credit, a USD amount plus an LBP amount: Psychology 117 USD + 5,591,250 LBP; Mass Communication 123 + 5,922,000; Early Childhood Education 150 + 7,234,500; Law and Political Science 117 + 5,591,250; Business Administration 150 + 7,234,500; Architecture 228 + 10,988,250; Graphic/Interior/Fashion Design 169 + 8,145,000; Engineering 228 + 10,988,250; Biology/Biochemistry/Computer Science 160 + 7,696,500; Pharmacy 273 + 13,156,500; Medicine 445 + 21,470,500; Dentistry 428 + 20,608,000; Nursing 150 + 7,234,500; Medical Laboratory Technology, Nutrition and Dietetics, Physical Therapy 162 + 7,796,250; Freshman year 167 + 8,027,250. University requirement courses 117 USD + 5,591,250 LBP per credit. Services fee 200 USD per semester; fees rise 5 percent annually. No separate international rate shown.

Lebanese International University (LIU)

Beirut (Mousaitbeh headquarters; nine campuses) · Private

USD per credit (academic year not stated): Business undergraduate 179, graduate 225; Engineering 215 / 285; Arts and Sciences 169; MS Applied Math 190; MS Food Technology 240; Computer Science 215 / 285; Information Technology 215; Pharmacy 299; Education 169 / 190; Freshman 165. Registration fee 150 USD; admission application LBP 1,500,000 undergraduate, LBP 2,500,000 graduate; entrance exam LBP 1,000,000; NSSF LBP 2,500,000. Pharmacy students are not eligible for financial aid. No separate international rate shown.

Arts, Sciences and Technology University in Lebanon (AUL)

Beirut · Private

Haigazian University

Beirut · Private

American University of Science and Technology (AUST)

Beirut · Private

Modern University for Business and Science (MUBS)

Beirut (Damour campus) · Private

Makassed University of Beirut

Beirut · Private

Arab Open University - Lebanon

Beirut · Private

Global University

Beirut · Private

Beirut Islamic University

Beirut · Private

La Sagesse University

Beirut · Private

American University of Culture and Education (AUCE)

Beirut · Private

University of Sciences and Arts in Lebanon (USAL)

Beirut (Ghobeiry) · Private

Saint George University of Beirut

Beirut · Private

Al-Kafaat University

Beirut · Private

Al Maaref University

Beirut · Private

Ecole Supérieure des Affaires (ESA Business School)

Beirut · Private

Cost information for Lebanon

The information below is not specific to Beirut; it applies to Lebanon as a whole.

Monthly living cost (country-level)
Indicative only, from one university's incoming-student guide (LAU, undated, marked 'subject to change'): accommodation within Beirut 600-1,000 USD per month, outside Beirut 400-660 USD per month, food about 300 USD per month, leisure about 150 USD per month. University dorm fees published for 2026-2027: AUB on-campus 1,665-2,290 USD per semester (off-campus dormitory 1,880-4,100), NDU shared room 1,300 USD per semester and single 2,000 USD, Balamand 900-1,610 USD (period not stated). Health coverage, NSSF and liability charges are extra (see healthInsurance). No government cost-of-living figure found; official travel advice stresses that US dollars in cash are the main currency.Source
Accommodation (country-level)
AUB: six residence halls on campus (four for women, two for men) and one off campus for women; dorm fees 2026-2027 per semester on campus double room 1,665 USD (Penrose 2,290; semi-private for women 2,080; triple for men 2,080), off-campus Sidani dormitory double 2,080, private 4,000, suite 4,100, semi-private 1,880 USD. NDU student housing: shared room 1,300 USD per semester (Fall/Spring), 450 USD summer; single 2,000 USD and 700 USD; deposit 200 or 300 USD, payment in cash USD. Balamand residences (Beit Talibat, La Maresa): single 1,265-1,610 USD, double 900-945 USD, suite 1,360 USD (period not stated on the PDF). LAU on-campus housing exists but its fee page was not read. USJ has a student dormitory on Damascus Road, Beirut. Lebanese University dorms are for undergraduates of the Hadath campus faculties and the application is in Arabic only.Source

Let us plan the right path for your goals

In a free initial consultation we review your profile, budget and goals, and narrow down the countries and universities that fit you.

Information on this page is compiled from official sources and was verified on the date shown. Fees, dates and visa rules change often; check official sources before applying. Empty fields have not been verified yet; ask our advisor for the current information.