Skip to content

City guide

Tripoli and North Lebanon: studying in Lebanon

Verified information about Tripoli and North Lebanon in Lebanon and the universities located there.

Verified facts about Tripoli and North Lebanon

  • BAU, USJ (Ras Maska) and NDU have campuses in North Lebanon; Balamand's main campus is on Balamand Hill with a faculty in Al Kurah (university sites).
  • UK FCDO advises against all but essential travel to parts of Tripoli; Germany says Tripoli carries a particularly high risk of violence and crime.

Universities in Tripoli and North Lebanon

Notre Dame University-Louaize (NDU)

Louaize (Main Campus); North Lebanon and Shouf campuses · Private

Undergraduate (USD per credit hour): Architecture 440, Business 395, Computer Sciences 440, Engineering 470, All others 380; intensive course 2,880; first payment 1,100. Graduate: Architecture 670, Business 635, Computer Sciences 670, Engineering 765, Remedial 520, All others 590. Technology and student services fee 500 USD per Fall and Spring semester (200 USD summer), including Office 365, internet, Smart ID, medical insurance and medical house services, payable in cash USD. Credit fees must be paid in full in cash USD. Academic year of the table not stated; no separate international rate shown.

University of Balamand (UOB)

Balamand (Al Kurah, North Lebanon); further campuses incl. Dekouaneh and Souk El Gharb · Private

2026-2027, per credit, a USD amount plus an LBP amount (both charged): Freshman 435 USD + 3,290,000 LBP; Arts & Sciences-Arts 435 + 3,290,000; Sciences 485 + 3,590,000; Business Management 480 + 3,550,000; Health Sciences 485 + 3,615,000; Engineering 535 + 3,910,000; Issam Fares Faculty of Technology 275 + 2,290,000. Graduate per credit: Arts 730 + 5,125,000; Sciences 710 + 5,015,000; Business 640 + 4,560,000; Health Sciences 720 + 5,050,000; Engineering 545 + 3,965,000. Medicine 31,000 USD yearly; Executive MBA 26,000 USD; DBA 48,000 USD. Fees paid in cash at the cashier; student activities 215 USD per semester, internet 35 USD per semester, library/lab deposit 170 USD. No separate international rate shown.

Beirut Arab University (BAU)

Beirut (Debbieh, Tripoli and Bekaa campuses also) · Private

2026-2027, new students; per credit, a USD amount plus an LBP amount: Psychology 117 USD + 5,591,250 LBP; Mass Communication 123 + 5,922,000; Early Childhood Education 150 + 7,234,500; Law and Political Science 117 + 5,591,250; Business Administration 150 + 7,234,500; Architecture 228 + 10,988,250; Graphic/Interior/Fashion Design 169 + 8,145,000; Engineering 228 + 10,988,250; Biology/Biochemistry/Computer Science 160 + 7,696,500; Pharmacy 273 + 13,156,500; Medicine 445 + 21,470,500; Dentistry 428 + 20,608,000; Nursing 150 + 7,234,500; Medical Laboratory Technology, Nutrition and Dietetics, Physical Therapy 162 + 7,796,250; Freshman year 167 + 8,027,250. University requirement courses 117 USD + 5,591,250 LBP per credit. Services fee 200 USD per semester; fees rise 5 percent annually. No separate international rate shown.

Jinan University

Tripoli · Private

City University (formerly Al-Manar University of Tripoli)

Tripoli · Private

East International University (formerly Azm University)

Tripoli · Private

Cost information for Lebanon

The information below is not specific to Tripoli and North Lebanon; it applies to Lebanon as a whole.

Monthly living cost (country-level)
Indicative only, from one university's incoming-student guide (LAU, undated, marked 'subject to change'): accommodation within Beirut 600-1,000 USD per month, outside Beirut 400-660 USD per month, food about 300 USD per month, leisure about 150 USD per month. University dorm fees published for 2026-2027: AUB on-campus 1,665-2,290 USD per semester (off-campus dormitory 1,880-4,100), NDU shared room 1,300 USD per semester and single 2,000 USD, Balamand 900-1,610 USD (period not stated). Health coverage, NSSF and liability charges are extra (see healthInsurance). No government cost-of-living figure found; official travel advice stresses that US dollars in cash are the main currency.Source
Accommodation (country-level)
AUB: six residence halls on campus (four for women, two for men) and one off campus for women; dorm fees 2026-2027 per semester on campus double room 1,665 USD (Penrose 2,290; semi-private for women 2,080; triple for men 2,080), off-campus Sidani dormitory double 2,080, private 4,000, suite 4,100, semi-private 1,880 USD. NDU student housing: shared room 1,300 USD per semester (Fall/Spring), 450 USD summer; single 2,000 USD and 700 USD; deposit 200 or 300 USD, payment in cash USD. Balamand residences (Beit Talibat, La Maresa): single 1,265-1,610 USD, double 900-945 USD, suite 1,360 USD (period not stated on the PDF). LAU on-campus housing exists but its fee page was not read. USJ has a student dormitory on Damascus Road, Beirut. Lebanese University dorms are for undergraduates of the Hadath campus faculties and the application is in Arabic only.Source

Let us plan the right path for your goals

In a free initial consultation we review your profile, budget and goals, and narrow down the countries and universities that fit you.

Information on this page is compiled from official sources and was verified on the date shown. Fees, dates and visa rules change often; check official sources before applying. Empty fields have not been verified yet; ask our advisor for the current information.