---
title: "Study in Tunisia: costs, visa, scholarships and universities | Arman Education"
description: "Costs, visa process, work rights, scholarships and university options for studying in Tunisia."
canonical_url: "https://armaneducation.com/en/countries/tunisia"
locale: en
meta:
  "og:description": "Costs, visa process, work rights, scholarships and university options for studying in Tunisia."
  "og:image": "https://armaneducation.com/og/country-tunisia-en.png"
  "og:image:height": "630"
  "og:image:width": "1200"
  "og:title": "Study in Tunisia: costs, visa, scholarships and universities"
  "twitter:image": "https://armaneducation.com/og/country-tunisia-en.png"
---

> Index of every page on this site: [llms.txt](https://armaneducation.com/llms.txt)

Countries

# **Study in Tunisia: costs, visa, scholarships and universities**

Costs, visa process, work rights, scholarships and university options for studying in Tunisia.

[**Free consultation for Tunisia**](https://armaneducation.com/en/contact?country=tunisia)

## **Overview**

Tunisia has a state-run higher-education system of 13 public universities (including a virtual university) and 206 public establishments, plus about 80 private institutions, according to the national StudyInTunisia platform of the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research (MESRS). The platform reports 4,276 international students in the public sector and 4,771 in the private sector. Teaching is organised in the licence (3 years), master (2 years) and doctorate cycles, with separate engineering, architecture and medical tracks; the MESRS guide gives Arabic as the mother tongue and French as the second language, and some programme titles and private-university courses are in English.

International students can enter public universities either through a cooperation scheme (seats, with or without a Tunisian government scholarship, requested through diplomatic channels and the MESRS International Cooperation Directorate) or as individual fee-paying applicants through the official platform studyintunisia.rnu.tn. For 2026-27 the platform shows last dates of 30 October 2026 for master and 16 November 2026 for doctorate applications. The official annual fee scale is 5,000 TND for licence/bachelor, 6,000 TND for master, 7,000 TND for doctorate, 9,000 TND for engineering/architecture and 15,000 TND for medicine, dentistry and pharmacy. Private universities set their own admission rules and fees.

Entry rules depend on nationality: the Ministry of Foreign Affairs list (December 2023) shows no entry visa for citizens of Turkey, Russia and Kazakhstan, while Ukrainian and Azerbaijani citizens are exempt only on organised group travel with a hotel voucher and return ticket, and must otherwise apply at a Tunisian embassy or consulate. After arrival, the MESRS guide says to apply for a student residence card at the nearest police station, with proof of enrolment, a solvency document of 1,500 TND or a scholarship certificate, accommodation proof, photos and a 75 TND stamp receipt (guide figures are from about 2020). Rules on student employment could not be verified from official sources.

Tunisia may suit students looking for a lower-cost Mediterranean destination with French- or Arabic-language study, or English-taught programmes at private institutions, and who are ready to handle paperwork in French. Living costs quoted by one private university are roughly 90-150 USD for a shared flat and 90-180 USD for food per month. The UK and Canadian governments advise against travel to parts of the south and west near the Algerian and Libyan borders, and Canada advises a high degree of caution countrywide because of terrorism; admission, visa and fee details change and should be confirmed with the institution and the Tunisian mission.

<dl>

<dt>**Public university tuition**</dt>
<dd>Official MESRS fee scale (StudyInTunisia platform, undated) for international students applying individually to Tunisian public universities, annual, in Tunisian dinars (TND): Licence and Bachelor 5,000; Master 6,000; Doctorate 7,000; engineering preparatory cycle and engineering/architecture diploma 9,000; general medicine, dental medicine and pharmacy 15,000. Students nominated by their governments under cooperation agreements are covered by a different scheme (seats with or without scholarships, per the MESRS guide). The platform page publishes no VAT, registration or other extra fees; check with the institution.<a href="https://studyintunisia.rnu.tn/frais.php">Source </a></dd>

<dt>**Monthly living cost**</dt>
<dd>No official government cost-of-living figure found. SMU (private university) lists approximate monthly costs in USD: shared apartment 90-150; studio 180-260; individual housing in northern suburbs 290-440; food 90-180; local transport about 73. The MESRS guide notes public-university meals cost at most 0.2 TND, a basic public health-centre consultation 7 TND (generalist) or 10 TND (specialist) without insurance, and the residence-card file requires a solvency document of 1,500 TND (guide, c.2020).<a href="https://www.smu.tn/medtech/international/study-tunisia">Source </a></dd>

<dt>**Visa processing time**</dt>
<dd>No official processing time found for entry visas or residence cards.<a href="https://back.diplomatie.gov.tn/index.php/api/get-page/48">Source </a></dd>

<dt>**Work rights**</dt>
<dd>No official Tunisian source on student employment found. The MESRS guide does not address work; the Ministry of Interior/idaraty.tn residence-card procedure page was blocked (Cloudflare) and secondary guides report that international students are not permitted paid work, which is unverified here. Do not state work rights on the site; advise applicants to confirm with the Ministry of Interior and the Ministry of Employment.</dd>

<dt>**Intakes and deadlines**</dt>
<dd>Academic year starts in the second week of September in faculties and schools and in the first week of September in engineering, architecture, medicine, dental medicine and pharmacy institutions (MESRS guide, c.2020). For 2026-27 the StudyInTunisia platform shows last submission dates of 30 October 2026 (master) and 16 November 2026 (doctorate). No licence/bachelor deadline or second-semester intake is stated on the pages read.<a href="https://studyintunisia.rnu.tn/dates.php">Source </a></dd>

<dt>**Language requirement**</dt>
<dd>No national language requirement or test threshold is published on the StudyInTunisia platform or the MESRS guide. The guide describes Arabic as the mother tongue and French as the second language of Tunisia; programme instruction language is not stated in the public university catalogues reviewed. The private SMU/MedTech university requires an English placement test (online option for international students) and publishes no IELTS/TOEFL threshold.<a href="https://www.mes.tn/image.php?id=13210">Source </a></dd>

</dl>

## **Tuition and living costs**

<dl>

<dt>**Public university tuition**</dt>
<dd>Official MESRS fee scale (StudyInTunisia platform, undated) for international students applying individually to Tunisian public universities, annual, in Tunisian dinars (TND): Licence and Bachelor 5,000; Master 6,000; Doctorate 7,000; engineering preparatory cycle and engineering/architecture diploma 9,000; general medicine, dental medicine and pharmacy 15,000. Students nominated by their governments under cooperation agreements are covered by a different scheme (seats with or without scholarships, per the MESRS guide). The platform page publishes no VAT, registration or other extra fees; check with the institution.<a href="https://studyintunisia.rnu.tn/frais.php">Source </a></dd>

<dt>**Private university tuition**</dt>
<dd>Not yet verified</dd>

<dt>**Monthly living cost**</dt>
<dd>No official government cost-of-living figure found. SMU (private university) lists approximate monthly costs in USD: shared apartment 90-150; studio 180-260; individual housing in northern suburbs 290-440; food 90-180; local transport about 73. The MESRS guide notes public-university meals cost at most 0.2 TND, a basic public health-centre consultation 7 TND (generalist) or 10 TND (specialist) without insurance, and the residence-card file requires a solvency document of 1,500 TND (guide, c.2020).<a href="https://www.smu.tn/medtech/international/study-tunisia">Source </a></dd>

</dl>

### Accommodation

MESRS guide (c.2020): public university housing requires enrolment in a public institution and DGCI approval for scholarship/housing allocation; other international students may use private university hostels. Online applications for returning students go through the regional offices (ooun/oouc/oous.rnu.tn): create an account, apply, receive acceptance, pay online by e-Dinar Jeune card, deposit file at the hostel. For private rentals the guide recommends an agency and a signed, legalised lease. Public university restaurants serve two meals a day at a state-subsidised price of up to 0.2 TND; students of private institutions may not use them.

When planning the total budget, separate one-off and monthly items. [Budget planning guide](https://armaneducation.com/en/guides/budget-planning)

## **Visa and residence permit**

Tunisia entry visas are required for citizens of countries not on the Ministry of Foreign Affairs exemption list; applicants must appear in person at the Tunisian embassy or consulate for their country of residence. Citizens of visa-exempt countries can enter without a visa (the MESRS guide says three months of stay from arrival) and must apply for a student residence card at the police station for their place of residence before the legal stay ends. No Tunisian student-visa category or fee schedule was found on official pages; the MFA publishes only an entry-visa table.

<dl>

<dt>**Visa processing time**</dt>
<dd>No official processing time found for entry visas or residence cards.<a href="https://back.diplomatie.gov.tn/index.php/api/get-page/48">Source </a></dd>

<dt>**Proof of funds**</dt>
<dd>Solvency document of 1,500 TND or a scholarship certificate is listed among the residence-card documents (MESRS guide, c.2020). No visa-stage financial requirement found.<a href="https://back.diplomatie.gov.tn/index.php/api/get-page/48">Source </a></dd>

<dt>**Health insurance**</dt>
<dd>MESRS guide (c.2020): international students must undergo mandatory, confidential medical screening (blood, stool, urine tests for diseases including HIV, syphilis, malaria, hepatitis B, bilharziasis, amoebiasis), free at public institutions and estimated at 70-80 TND at private ones. Students at public institutions can access public health services at reduced tariff with the student card and, per the guide, benefit from social security (CNSS/CNAM). Students at private institutions are covered only if their country has a bilateral social-security convention with Tunisia; otherwise they pay full tariffs in public hospitals or use clinics. Basic public health centres charge about 7 TND (generalist) or 10 TND (specialist) without CNAM coverage. Public institutions provide psychological support. Whether insurance proof is needed for a visa is not stated on official pages read.<a href="https://www.mes.tn/image.php?id=13210">Source </a></dd>

</dl>

### Application steps

1. Check the MFA entry-visa table for your nationality (Dec 2023 list).
2. Obtain admission (public: StudyInTunisia or cooperation scheme; private: the institution) and enrolment certificate.
3. If a visa is required, apply in person at the Tunisian embassy/consulate of your country of residence (MFA page, updated 2024-01-17); documents and fee are not listed on the page.
4. On arrival, enter through an authorised border point and, within the permitted stay, file a residence-card application at the police station nearest your residence (MESRS guide).
5. For renewals the guide states 30 September as the last date; late filing is penalised (20 TND per week of irregular stay; 300 TND fine for out-of-time filing, per guide, c.2020).

### Documents required

- Enrolment certificate for the current year (legalised by MESRS for private-institution students)
- Proof of payment of registration fees
- Certificate of attendance
- Solvency document of 1,500 TND or scholarship certificate
- Tenancy contract or accommodation certificate
- Two ID photos
- Receipt of 75 TND from the finance office (when filed on time)
- Photocopy of passport first page and entry page
- (All residence-card items per MESRS guide, c.2020; verify current list with the police/Ministry of Interior.)

**Travel advisories, sanctions and payments**

<dl>

<dt>**Fees**</dt>
<dd>Residence-card stamp receipt 75 TND (MESRS guide, c.2020). Entry-visa fee not stated on the MFA page.<a href="https://back.diplomatie.gov.tn/index.php/api/get-page/48">Source </a></dd>

</dl>

**Nationality-specific notes:** turkiye: MFA table (Dec 2023): Turkey is marked "NON" for entry visa to Tunisia, i.e. no entry visa required; stay duration not stated in the table. Residence card still required for study beyond the permitted stay.; russia: MFA table (Dec 2023): Russia is marked "NON" for entry visa, i.e. no entry visa required; stay duration not stated.; kazakhstan: MFA table (Dec 2023): Kazakhstan is marked "NON" for entry visa, i.e. no entry visa required; stay duration not stated.; ukraine: MFA table (Dec 2023): Ukraine is marked "OUI" (visa required) with footnote (\*): citizens are exempt only when travelling on an organised trip with hotel voucher (and return ticket); an individual student must therefore apply for a visa. Footnote text is partly cut off in the scan.; azerbaijan: MFA table (Dec 2023): Azerbaijan is marked "OUI" (visa required) with footnote (\*1): exempt only when travelling on an organised trip with hotel voucher and return ticket; an individual student must apply for a visa.

[**Our visa consulting **→](https://armaneducation.com/en/services/visa)

## **Work rights and after graduation**

No official Tunisian source on student employment found. The MESRS guide does not address work; the Ministry of Interior/idaraty.tn residence-card procedure page was blocked (Cloudflare) and secondary guides report that international students are not permitted paid work, which is unverified here. Do not state work rights on the site; advise applicants to confirm with the Ministry of Interior and the Ministry of Employment.

**After graduation:** No official Tunisian source on post-study residence or job-search permits found.

## **Language requirements and intakes**

<dl>

<dt>**Language requirement**</dt>
<dd>No national language requirement or test threshold is published on the StudyInTunisia platform or the MESRS guide. The guide describes Arabic as the mother tongue and French as the second language of Tunisia; programme instruction language is not stated in the public university catalogues reviewed. The private SMU/MedTech university requires an English placement test (online option for international students) and publishes no IELTS/TOEFL threshold.<a href="https://www.mes.tn/image.php?id=13210">Source </a></dd>

<dt>**Intakes and deadlines**</dt>
<dd>Academic year starts in the second week of September in faculties and schools and in the first week of September in engineering, architecture, medicine, dental medicine and pharmacy institutions (MESRS guide, c.2020). For 2026-27 the StudyInTunisia platform shows last submission dates of 30 October 2026 (master) and 16 November 2026 (doctorate). No licence/bachelor deadline or second-semester intake is stated on the pages read.<a href="https://studyintunisia.rnu.tn/dates.php">Source </a></dd>

</dl>

[**Language and exam preparation **→](https://armaneducation.com/en/services/language)

## **Scholarships**

**licence / master / doctorate (candidates holding at least the baccalaureate proposed by partner countries)****By nomination**

### **Tunisian government cooperation scholarship (bourse de coopération bilatérale)**

Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research (MESRS), International Cooperation Directorate (DGCI)

<dl>

<dt>**Coverage**</dt>
<dd>Seat in a public institution with or without a monthly scholarship; guide table (c.2020) lists monthly amounts in TND: first three licence years 120 (1,320 per academic year), master year 1 160 (1,760), master year 2 200 (2,200), engineering year 2 160 (1,760), doctorate 250 (3,000). University housing and restaurant access follow DGCI approval.</dd>

<dt>**Deadline**</dt>
<dd>Communicated each year to Tunisian missions abroad and embassies accredited in Tunisia; no public date.</dd>

<dt>**Eligibility**</dt>
<dd>Only candidates officially proposed to DGCI by their country's authorities and accepted by the departments/institutions are eligible; age limits 18-23 for first cycle depending on institution; baccalaureate with at least "Bien" for competitive fields and "Assez Bien" for others; master/PhD need a qualifying degree. Amounts are from a c.2020 guide and may have changed.</dd></dl>[Source](https://www.mes.tn/image.php?id=13210)

**licence, master (MSB) and engineering (MedTech)****Via the university**

### **SMU Foundation scholarships (Excellence, Equality, Diversity)**

SMU Foundation (South Mediterranean University)

<dl>

<dt>**Coverage**</dt>
<dd>Top-3 awards of 100%, 50% and 25% of tuition per semester for the best GPAs in each cohort per school (Excellence scholarship); Equality and Diversity types exist but terms not detailed on the page read.</dd>

<dt>**Deadline**</dt>
<dd>Applications were open until 31 July 2026 (past at access date)</dd>

<dt>**Eligibility**</dt>
<dd>Selection on academic performance, extracurricular activities, motivation, English level, limited financial resources and distance from Tunis; partner Zitouna Bank also offers student financing.</dd></dl>[Source](https://www.smu.tn/medtech/service/financial-aid)

## **Cities**

**Tunis**

**Sfax**

**Sousse**

**Monastir and Mahdia**

## **Universities**

[**University of Carthage (UCAR)** Tunis (Amilcar) · Public Official MESRS fee scale (StudyInTunisia platform, undated) for international students applying individually to Tunisian public universities, annual, in Tunisian dinars (TND): Licence and Bachelor 5,000; Master 6,000; Doctorate 7,000; engineering preparatory cycle and engineering/architecture diploma 9,000; general medicine, dental medicine and pharmacy 15,000. Students nominated by their governments under cooperation agreements are covered by a different scheme (seats with or without scholarships, per the MESRS guide). The platform page publishes no VAT, registration or other extra fees; check with the institution.](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/university-of-carthage) [**University of Tunis (UTunis)** Tunis · Public Official MESRS fee scale (StudyInTunisia platform, undated) for international students applying individually to Tunisian public universities, annual, in Tunisian dinars (TND): Licence and Bachelor 5,000; Master 6,000; Doctorate 7,000; engineering preparatory cycle and engineering/architecture diploma 9,000; general medicine, dental medicine and pharmacy 15,000. Students nominated by their governments under cooperation agreements are covered by a different scheme (seats with or without scholarships, per the MESRS guide). The platform page publishes no VAT, registration or other extra fees; check with the institution.](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/university-of-tunis) [**University of La Manouba (UMA)** Manouba (Tunis) · Public Official MESRS fee scale (StudyInTunisia platform, undated) for international students applying individually to Tunisian public universities, annual, in Tunisian dinars (TND): Licence and Bachelor 5,000; Master 6,000; Doctorate 7,000; engineering preparatory cycle and engineering/architecture diploma 9,000; general medicine, dental medicine and pharmacy 15,000. Students nominated by their governments under cooperation agreements are covered by a different scheme (seats with or without scholarships, per the MESRS guide). The platform page publishes no VAT, registration or other extra fees; check with the institution.](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/university-of-manouba) [**University of Tunis El Manar (UTM)** Tunis · Public Official MESRS fee scale (StudyInTunisia platform, undated) for international students applying individually to Tunisian public universities, annual, in Tunisian dinars (TND): Licence and Bachelor 5,000; Master 6,000; Doctorate 7,000; engineering preparatory cycle and engineering/architecture diploma 9,000; general medicine, dental medicine and pharmacy 15,000. Students nominated by their governments under cooperation agreements are covered by a different scheme (seats with or without scholarships, per the MESRS guide). The platform page publishes no VAT, registration or other extra fees; check with the institution.](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/university-of-tunis-el-manar) [**University of Sfax** Sfax · Public Official MESRS fee scale (StudyInTunisia platform, undated) for international students applying individually to Tunisian public universities, annual, in Tunisian dinars (TND): Licence and Bachelor 5,000; Master 6,000; Doctorate 7,000; engineering preparatory cycle and engineering/architecture diploma 9,000; general medicine, dental medicine and pharmacy 15,000. Students nominated by their governments under cooperation agreements are covered by a different scheme (seats with or without scholarships, per the MESRS guide). The platform page publishes no VAT, registration or other extra fees; check with the institution.](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/university-of-sfax) [**University of Sousse** Sousse · Public Official MESRS fee scale (StudyInTunisia platform, undated) for international students applying individually to Tunisian public universities, annual, in Tunisian dinars (TND): Licence and Bachelor 5,000; Master 6,000; Doctorate 7,000; engineering preparatory cycle and engineering/architecture diploma 9,000; general medicine, dental medicine and pharmacy 15,000. Students nominated by their governments under cooperation agreements are covered by a different scheme (seats with or without scholarships, per the MESRS guide). The platform page publishes no VAT, registration or other extra fees; check with the institution.](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/university-of-sousse) [**University of Monastir** Monastir · Public Official MESRS fee scale (StudyInTunisia platform, undated) for international students applying individually to Tunisian public universities, annual, in Tunisian dinars (TND): Licence and Bachelor 5,000; Master 6,000; Doctorate 7,000; engineering preparatory cycle and engineering/architecture diploma 9,000; general medicine, dental medicine and pharmacy 15,000. Students nominated by their governments under cooperation agreements are covered by a different scheme (seats with or without scholarships, per the MESRS guide). The platform page publishes no VAT, registration or other extra fees; check with the institution.](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/university-of-monastir) [**South Mediterranean University (SMU) - MedTech, Mediterranean Institute of Technology** Tunis (Lac 2) · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/south-mediterranean-university-medtech) [**University of Ez-Zitouna** Tunis · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/university-of-ez-zitouna) [**University of Jendouba** Jendouba · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/university-of-jendouba) [**University of Kairouan** Kairouan · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/university-of-kairouan) [**University of Gafsa** Gafsa · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/university-of-gafsa) [**University of Gabes** Gabes · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/university-of-gabes) [**Virtual University of Tunis** Tunis · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/virtual-university-of-tunis) [**Private Faculty of Montplaisir** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-faculty-of-montplaisir) [**Institut des Hautes Etudes (IHE Tunis and Sousse)** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/institut-des-hautes-etudes-ihe-tunis-and-sousse) [**Private Higher Institute of Technologies and Advanced Sciences of the South** Sfax · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-institute-of-technologies-and-advanced-sciences-of-the-south) [**Université Libre de Tunis (Bouebdelli University)** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/universite-libre-de-tunis-bouebdelli-university) [**Université Tunis Carthage (UTC)** Soukra · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/universite-tunis-carthage-utc) [**Université Arabe des Sciences (UAS)** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/universite-arabe-des-sciences-uas) [**Private Faculty of Management Sciences and Technology of Megrine (UPES)** Megrine · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-faculty-of-management-sciences-and-technology-of-megrine-upes) [**Université Centrale** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/universite-centrale) [**Private Higher School of Technology and Business Administration (Suptech)** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-technology-and-business-administration-suptech) [**UPSAT - Private Faculty of Health Sciences** Sousse · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/upsat-private-faculty-of-health-sciences) [**Private Higher School of Information Technologies and Business Management (TIME)** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-information-technologies-and-business-management-time) [**International Private Higher School of Tunis (UIT)** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/international-private-higher-school-of-tunis-uit) [**ESPRIT - Private Higher School of Engineering and Technology** Ariana · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/esprit-private-higher-school-of-engineering-and-technology) [**Private Higher School of Aviation and Technology (ESAT)** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-aviation-and-technology-esat) [**Private Higher School of Administrative and Commercial Studies of Sfax (ESEAC)** Sfax · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-administrative-and-commercial-studies-of-sfax-eseac) [**Private Higher School of Architecture, Audiovisual and Design (ESAD)** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-architecture-audiovisual-and-design-esad) [**Université Méditerranéenne Libre de Tunis (UMLT)** Nabeul · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/universite-mediterraneenne-libre-de-tunis-umlt) [**Université Ibn Khaldoun (UIK)** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/universite-ibn-khaldoun-uik) [**SESAME - Private Higher School of Applied Sciences and Business Administration** Ariana · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/sesame-private-higher-school-of-applied-sciences-and-business-administration) [**Université Mahmoud El Materi (UMM)** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/universite-mahmoud-el-materi-umm) [**"El Amed" Private Higher Institute of Nursing Sciences** Sousse · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/el-amed-private-higher-institute-of-nursing-sciences) [**Private Higher Institute of Nursing Sciences of Kairouan** Kairouan · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-institute-of-nursing-sciences-of-kairouan) [**Private Higher School of Applied Sciences and Technology of Gabes (ESSAT)** Gabes · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-applied-sciences-and-technology-of-gabes-essat) [**Université Privée de Sousse (UPS)** Sousse · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/universite-privee-de-sousse-ups) [**"Etoile Formation" Private Higher Institute of Nursing Sciences** Sousse · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/etoile-formation-private-higher-institute-of-nursing-sciences) [**Private Higher Institute of Nursing Sciences of Sousse (ISIS)** Sousse · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-institute-of-nursing-sciences-of-sousse-isis) [**Private Higher Institute Tunis Dauphine** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-institute-tunis-dauphine) [**Private Higher School of Techniques of Sousse (Polytec Sousse)** Sousse · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-techniques-of-sousse-polytec-sousse) [**"Ibn Sina" Private Higher School of Business Administration and Law (APBS)** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/ibn-sina-private-higher-school-of-business-administration-and-law-apbs) [**Private Higher School of Technology, Computer Science and Management of Sousse (ESTIM)** Sousse · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-technology-computer-science-and-management-of-sousse-estim) [**EPI Sousse (International Private Higher Schools)** Sousse · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/epi-sousse-international-private-higher-schools) [**Private Higher School of Engineering and Applied Technology of Sousse (ESPITA)** Sousse · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-engineering-and-applied-technology-of-sousse-espita) [**International Private Higher School of Technology of Sfax (IIT)** Sfax · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/international-private-higher-school-of-technology-of-sfax-iit) [**International Private Higher School of Business of Sfax (ISB)** Sfax · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/international-private-higher-school-of-business-of-sfax-isb) [**Private Higher School of Computer Science and Business Administration (EBS)** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-computer-science-and-business-administration-ebs) [**Polytech Internationale University** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/polytech-internationale-university) [**Private Higher School of Engineers of Gafsa (ESIP)** Gafsa · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-engineers-of-gafsa-esip) [**Private Higher School of Computer Engineering and Business Administration (iTeam)** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-computer-engineering-and-business-administration-iteam) [**Private Higher School of Multiple Techniques of Monastir (Polytech Monastir)** Monastir · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-multiple-techniques-of-monastir-polytech-monastir) [**Private Higher School of Engineers of Monastir (ESPRIM)** Monastir · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-engineers-of-monastir-esprim) [**Tek-Up - Private Higher School of Technology and Engineering** Ariana · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/tek-up-private-higher-school-of-technology-and-engineering) [**Private Higher School of Information Technology and Business Administration of Nabeul (ITBS)** Nabeul · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-information-technology-and-business-administration-of-nabeul-itbs) [**Leaders University** Nabeul · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/leaders-university) [**Private Higher Institute of Business Administration of Tunis (IAE Tunis)** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-institute-of-business-administration-of-tunis-iae-tunis) [**International Private Higher Institute of Digital and Audiovisual Studies (IINA)** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/international-private-higher-institute-of-digital-and-audiovisual-studies-iina) [**Private Faculty of Management and Administrative Sciences of Sousse (FMSA)** Sousse · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-faculty-of-management-and-administrative-sciences-of-sousse-fmsa) [**Private Higher School of Business (AUNA)** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-business-auna) [**International Private Higher School of Multi-Technology of Sfax (ESPIN)** Sfax · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/international-private-higher-school-of-multi-technology-of-sfax-espin) [**Private Higher School of Technology and Business Administration of Gabes** Gabes · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-technology-and-business-administration-of-gabes) [**Private Faculty of Political and Economic Sciences (UE Tunis)** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-faculty-of-political-and-economic-sciences-ue-tunis) [**Private Higher School of Advanced Technology of Sousse (ETS)** Sousse · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-advanced-technology-of-sousse-ets) [**Esprit School of Business - Private Higher School of Business Administration of Tunis (ESB)** Ariana · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/esprit-school-of-business-private-higher-school-of-business-administration-of-tunis-esb) [**Private Higher School of Insurance and Finance (ESPAF)** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-insurance-and-finance-espaf) [**Private Higher School of Commerce Techniques and Business Administration of Medenine (TUTECH)** Medenine · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-commerce-techniques-and-business-administration-of-medenine-tutech) [**Private Higher School of Commercial Sciences and Business (ISSCA)** Sousse · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-commercial-sciences-and-business-issca) [**International Private Higher School of Business Administration and Marketing of Sousse (EIM)** Sousse · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/international-private-higher-school-of-business-administration-and-marketing-of-sousse-eim) [**Private Higher School of Legal, Economic and Political Sciences (BLP)** Ariana · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-legal-economic-and-political-sciences-blp) [**"Horizon" Private Higher School of Digital Technologies** Sousse · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/horizon-private-higher-school-of-digital-technologies) [**Private Higher School of Computer Science and Technology (ESGITECH)** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-computer-science-and-technology-esgitech) [**Private Higher Institute of Science and Technology in Applied Computer Science of Sousse (Pristinia)** Sousse · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-institute-of-science-and-technology-in-applied-computer-science-of-sousse-pristinia) [**Maghreb Private Higher School of Science and Technology (MUST)** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/maghreb-private-higher-school-of-science-and-technology-must) [**Private Higher Institute of Digitalization Technology (TED)** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-institute-of-digitalization-technology-ted) [**International Private Higher School of Hotel Management (Eight University)** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/international-private-higher-school-of-hotel-management-eight-university) [**Private Higher School of Computer Science and Digital Technology** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-computer-science-and-digital-technology) [**"Amilcar" Private Higher School of Modern Technologies and Management** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/amilcar-private-higher-school-of-modern-technologies-and-management) [**"Pioneer" Private Faculty of Technology and Business Administration** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/pioneer-private-faculty-of-technology-and-business-administration) [**Private Higher Institute of Technology and Management of Kairouan** Kairouan · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-institute-of-technology-and-management-of-kairouan) [**Private Higher School of Modern Technology of Sfax (iTech)** Sfax · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-higher-school-of-modern-technology-of-sfax-itech) [**Private Faculty of Management of Tunis (MBC)** Tunis · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/private-faculty-of-management-of-tunis-mbc)

[**All universities **→](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities?country=tunisia)

## **Official resources**

- [**StudyInTunisia - official MESRS application platform for international students**](https://studyintunisia.rnu.tn)
- [**MESRS - Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research**](https://www.mes.tn)
- [**MESRS - International students page (application notices)**](https://www.mes.tn/page.php?code_menu=114&code_menu_parent=47)
- [**MESRS Guide for international students in Tunisia (PDF)**](https://www.mes.tn/image.php?id=13210)
- [**MESRS university directory**](https://www.mes.tn/annuaire.php?code_menu=22)
- [**Ministry of Foreign Affairs - entry-visa table for third countries (PDF)**](https://back.diplomatie.gov.tn/storage/files/P5nMb6XXgrCwfKkpTn1HGTz6gglY8yKxRzvDd2Fp.pdf)
- [**Ministry of Foreign Affairs**](https://www.diplomatie.gov.tn)
- [**Ministry of Interior - administrative services**](http://services.interieur.gov.tn/)
- [**idaraty.tn - government administrative procedures portal (residence card for foreign students)**](https://idaraty.tn/fr/procedures/obtention-de-la-carte-de-sejour-pour-etrangers-etudiant)
- [**inscription.tn - remote registration with DGCI identification number**](https://www.inscription.tn)
- [**Regional university services offices (housing/restaurants): north**](https://www.ooun.rnu.tn)
- [**Regional university services office: centre**](https://www.oouc.rnu.tn)
- [**Regional university services office: south**](https://www.oous.rnu.tn)

## **Frequently asked questions**

Information on this page is compiled from official sources and was verified on the date shown. Fees, dates and visa rules change often; check official sources before applying. Empty fields have not been verified yet; ask our advisor for the current information.

## **Let us plan the right path for your goals**

In a free initial consultation we review your profile, budget and goals, and narrow down the countries and universities that fit you.

[**Free consultation**](https://armaneducation.com/en/contact?country=tunisia) [**How we work**](https://armaneducation.com/en/how-it-works)

```json
{"@context":"https://schema.org","@graph":[{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/en#website","@type":"WebSite","inLanguage":"en","name":"Arman Education","url":"https://armaneducation.com/en","publisher":{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/#identity"},"workTranslation":[{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/tr#website"},{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/ru#website"},{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/ua#website"},{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/kk#website"},{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/az#website"},{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/ar#website"}]},{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/en/countries/tunisia#webpage","description":"Costs, visa process, work rights, scholarships and university options for studying in Tunisia.","name":"Study in Tunisia: costs, visa, scholarships and universities","url":"https://armaneducation.com/en/countries/tunisia","@type":["WebPage","FAQPage"],"breadcrumb":{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/en/countries/tunisia#breadcrumb"},"isPartOf":{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/en#website"},"mainEntity":[{"@type":"Question","name":"How do international students apply to Tunisian public universities?","acceptedAnswer":{"@type":"Answer","text":"Individually and at their own expense through the official platform studyintunisia.rnu.tn (online only), or through a cooperation scheme in which partner governments propose candidates to the MESRS International Cooperation Directorate via diplomatic channels. For 2026-27 the platform shows last dates of 30 October 2026 (master) and 16 November 2026 (doctorate)."}},{"@type":"Question","name":"What are the tuition fees at public universities for international students?","acceptedAnswer":{"@type":"Answer","text":"The platform fee scale is 5,000 TND per year for licence/bachelor, 6,000 for master, 7,000 for doctorate, 9,000 for engineering/architecture and 15,000 for medicine, dentistry and pharmacy. Students nominated under cooperation agreements follow a different scheme."}},{"@type":"Question","name":"Do citizens of Turkey, Russia, Kazakhstan, Ukraine or Azerbaijan need a visa?","acceptedAnswer":{"@type":"Answer","text":"The Ministry of Foreign Affairs table (Dec 2023) shows no entry visa for Turkey, Russia and Kazakhstan. Ukraine and Azerbaijan require a visa unless travelling on an organised trip with hotel voucher and return ticket. Verify with the Tunisian embassy before travel, as the table is a scanned document from 2023."}},{"@type":"Question","name":"Do students need a residence card?","acceptedAnswer":{"@type":"Answer","text":"The MESRS guide says to apply at the police station nearest your residence on arrival, before the legal stay expires, with documents including enrolment proof, a 1,500 TND solvency document or scholarship certificate, accommodation proof, photos and a 75 TND stamp receipt. These figures date from about 2020 and should be re-checked."}},{"@type":"Question","name":"Are there scholarships for international students?","acceptedAnswer":{"@type":"Answer","text":"Tunisia offers cooperation scholarships to candidates proposed by partner countries; the guide lists monthly amounts from 120 to 250 TND by level (c.2020). Individual fee-paying applicants through the platform are not described as scholarship-eligible. Private universities such as SMU run their own merit scholarships."}},{"@type":"Question","name":"What language are programmes taught in?","acceptedAnswer":{"@type":"Answer","text":"The official catalogues reviewed do not state instruction language per programme. Arabic and French are the main languages in the national system; private SMU/MedTech programmes appear to be in English and require an English placement test, with no external test threshold published."}},{"@type":"Question","name":"Can international students work in Tunisia?","acceptedAnswer":{"@type":"Answer","text":"No official source on student employment could be verified, so the site should not state work rights. Applicants should ask the Ministry of Interior and the Ministry of Employment before planning to work."}},{"@type":"Question","name":"Is travel to Tunisia safe for students?","acceptedAnswer":{"@type":"Answer","text":"The UK advises against all travel to parts of the south and west (for example the Chaambi area, Ben Guerdane, areas near the Libyan and Algerian borders) and Canada advises a high degree of caution countrywide because of terrorism; the main university cities are not listed among the areas advised against by the UK. Check current advisories before travel."}}],"potentialAction":[{"@type":"ReadAction","target":["https://armaneducation.com/en/countries/tunisia"]}],"primaryImageOfPage":{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/#logo"}},{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/#identity","@type":"Organization","name":"Arman Education","url":"https://armaneducation.com","logo":{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/#logo"}},{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/en/countries/tunisia#breadcrumb","@type":"BreadcrumbList","itemListElement":[{"@type":"ListItem","name":"Home","item":"https://armaneducation.com/en","position":1},{"@type":"ListItem","name":"Countries","item":"https://armaneducation.com/en/countries","position":2},{"@type":"ListItem","name":"Tunisia","position":3}]},{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/#logo","@type":"ImageObject","caption":"Arman Education","contentUrl":"https://armaneducation.com/icon-512.png","inLanguage":"en","url":"https://armaneducation.com/icon-512.png"}]}
```

## Sitemap

See the full [sitemap](https://armaneducation.com/sitemap.md) for all pages.
