---
title: "Study in Saudi Arabia: costs, visa, scholarships and universities | Arman Education"
description: "Costs, visa process, work rights, scholarships and university options for studying in Saudi Arabia."
canonical_url: "https://armaneducation.com/en/countries/saudi-arabia"
locale: en
meta:
  "og:description": "Costs, visa process, work rights, scholarships and university options for studying in Saudi Arabia."
  "og:image": "https://armaneducation.com/og/country-saudi-arabia-en.png"
  "og:image:height": "630"
  "og:image:width": "1200"
  "og:title": "Study in Saudi Arabia: costs, visa, scholarships and universities"
  "twitter:image": "https://armaneducation.com/og/country-saudi-arabia-en.png"
---

> Index of every page on this site: [llms.txt](https://armaneducation.com/llms.txt)

Countries

# **Study in Saudi Arabia: costs, visa, scholarships and universities**

Costs, visa process, work rights, scholarships and university options for studying in Saudi Arabia.

[**Free consultation for Saudi Arabia**](https://armaneducation.com/en/contact?country=saudi-arabia)

## **Overview**

Saudi Arabia accepts international students through the Ministry of Education platform "Study in Saudi" (studyinsaudi.sa), which links applicants to public and private universities and lists three funding models: full scholarships, partial scholarships and self-funded paid study. Applicants apply to the institution through the platform; the institution reviews the application and, if approved, completes final admission with the Ministry. The platform names the Educational Visa, issued as short-term (up to six months) or long-term (one year, renewable) for study.

Public universities offer external scholarships for non-Saudis living abroad and internal scholarships for residents. The Ministry says external applicants need a scholarship from a Saudi university to obtain a study visa, with age limits of 17-25 for bachelor and Arabic programs, 30 for master and 35 for doctoral, plus home-country approval where required, certified documents, a police certificate and a medical examination. Benefits described include a monthly allowance, housing, health care and annual tickets, but amounts differ by university (for example KSU lists SAR 1,000 per month for scientific undergraduate majors).

Self-funded study is concentrated in private universities and in fee-based tracks. Alfaisal University publishes an undergraduate tuition of SAR 94,000 per year and requires proof of SAR 150,000 in funds; Prince Sultan University lists 96,000 per year for its bachelor programs on Study in Saudi. KAUST and KFUPM are research-focused institutions that fund admitted graduate students (KAUST fellowship stipend USD 20,000-30,000 per year; KFUPM scholarships for PhD and selected MS).

Costs and rules not found on official pages include a nationwide living-cost figure, student work rights, visa fees and processing times, and nationality-specific rules for Turkish, Russian, Kazakh, Ukrainian or Azerbaijani applicants. The UK FCDO currently advises against all but essential travel to Saudi Arabia (updated 21 October 2026), citing missile and drone attacks; students should check current advisories from their own government before travel. Arabic is widely used, local laws are strict (alcohol, drugs, online speech, dress), and Islamic law is strictly enforced.

<dl>

<dt>**Public university tuition**</dt>
<dd>Public universities: external-scholarship international students study free of tuition (Ministry: full scholarships provided "free of charge"). Self-funded or fee-based options exist: Study in Saudi shows KSU Paid Study international programs at 74,520-77,280 per year (currency not printed), IMSIU resident paid bachelor 30,050-35,250 per year, KFUPM self-sponsored graduate USD 1,000-2,000 per semester plus USD 135 per credit hour.<a href="https://www.moe.gov.sa/en/education/ResidentsAndvisitors/pages/publicuniversitiesscholarships.aspx">Source </a></dd>

<dt>**Monthly living cost**</dt>
<dd>No national student living-cost figure found on official pages. KAUST reports that surveyed students spend about USD 1,320 per month on average (survey date not stated; campus-specific, with housing and health insurance covered by the fellowship). Alfaisal requires proof of SAR 150,000 in funds for first-year tuition (not a living-cost estimate).<a href="https://admissions.kaust.edu.sa/about-kaust/cost-of-living">Source </a></dd>

<dt>**Visa processing time**</dt>
<dd>No official processing time found. KFUPM says processing times "can vary greatly" and advises starting right after admission.<a href="https://studyinsaudi.sa/en/VisaOptions">Source </a></dd>

<dt>**Work rights**</dt>
<dd>No official rule on part-time work for international students found (Study in Saudi, Ministry of Education, HRSD home page, university pages). Not recorded as permitted or prohibited. Related fact (search-snippet): King Khalid University requires resident applicants to hold an iqama and not be authorized to work. HRSD Labor Law defines part-time work generally but does not address students.; postStudy: No official post-study stay or graduate work route found.<a href="https://www.hrsd.gov.sa/">Source </a></dd>

<dt>**Intakes and deadlines**</dt>
<dd>Fall intake with scholarship application windows around April-May (IUM 1447 AH window 19 Apr - 21 May 2026, search-snippet) and a second-semester window (Study in Saudi: 16 Sep - 6 Oct 2026 for international and resident students). Alfaisal Fall applications close 31 May and reopen in March; KAUST Fall 2027 starts 29 August 2027 (deadline 3 Jan 2027) with Spring 2027 PhD only (starts 17 Jan 2027).<a href="https://studyinsaudi.sa/en">Source </a></dd>

<dt>**Language requirement**</dt>
<dd>Study in Saudi: long-term educational visa requires proof of proficiency in the language of study, except for Arabic studies. English-taught programs follow university thresholds: KAUST IELTS 7 (6.5 per section) / PTE 71; KFUPM graduate IELTS 6.0 (MS) or 6.5 (PhD), TOEFL iBT 70/80; Alfaisal requires TOEFL or IELTS (minimum not listed). Arabic-taught programs: IUM (search-snippet) does not require Arabic for admission but students take an Arabic course first; KSU offers an Arabic Language Preparatory Program (four semester levels, 20 hours per week).<a href="https://studyinsaudi.sa/en/VisaOptions">Source </a></dd>

</dl>

## **Tuition and living costs**

<dl>

<dt>**Public university tuition**</dt>
<dd>Public universities: external-scholarship international students study free of tuition (Ministry: full scholarships provided "free of charge"). Self-funded or fee-based options exist: Study in Saudi shows KSU Paid Study international programs at 74,520-77,280 per year (currency not printed), IMSIU resident paid bachelor 30,050-35,250 per year, KFUPM self-sponsored graduate USD 1,000-2,000 per semester plus USD 135 per credit hour.<a href="https://www.moe.gov.sa/en/education/ResidentsAndvisitors/pages/publicuniversitiesscholarships.aspx">Source </a></dd>

<dt>**Private university tuition**</dt>
<dd>Alfaisal University: undergraduate SAR 94,000 per year (47,000 per semester, 12+ credit hours); master SAR 200,000 total; PhD SAR 400,000 total; application fee SAR 600; VAT may apply. Study in Saudi: Alfaisal bachelor 108,100 per year, Prince Sultan University bachelor 96,000 per year (currency not printed), Al Yamamah University Accounting 36,800-42,550 per semester by campus (Khobar/Riyadh).<a href="https://admissions.alfaisal.edu/en/tution-fees">Source </a></dd>

<dt>**Monthly living cost**</dt>
<dd>No national student living-cost figure found on official pages. KAUST reports that surveyed students spend about USD 1,320 per month on average (survey date not stated; campus-specific, with housing and health insurance covered by the fellowship). Alfaisal requires proof of SAR 150,000 in funds for first-year tuition (not a living-cost estimate).<a href="https://admissions.kaust.edu.sa/about-kaust/cost-of-living">Source </a></dd>

</dl>

### Accommodation

Scholarship students at KSU, KFUPM, KAUST and KAU receive housing as part of benefits (not in all cases for married students). Self-funded students: Alfaisal housing information not published on pages read; contact OISE. Rental market information was not assessed.

When planning the total budget, separate one-off and monthly items. [Budget planning guide](https://armaneducation.com/en/guides/budget-planning)

## **Visa and residence permit**

Study in Saudi names an Educational Visa for international students and researchers at Saudi institutions, in a short-term form (study, training, language study or exchange up to six months, extendable by six months) and a long-term form (one year, renewable annually, for bachelor, master and doctoral study). The Ministry of Education states that applicants need a scholarship from a Saudi university to obtain a study visa at a Saudi embassy; the portal also lists paid-study programs, so the route for self-funded students (e.g. Alfaisal after a deposit) is arranged through the university. Scholarship recipients can obtain a free residence permit (iqama) for the study period using a letter from the university passport department (Ministry page); SAMA rulebook confirms student iqamas may be free for scholarship holders.

<dl>

<dt>**Visa processing time**</dt>
<dd>No official processing time found. KFUPM says processing times "can vary greatly" and advises starting right after admission.<a href="https://studyinsaudi.sa/en/VisaOptions">Source </a></dd>

<dt>**Proof of funds**</dt>
<dd>Study in Saudi: proof of ability to cover tuition and living expenses, or a financial guarantee. Alfaisal: six-month bank statement showing 150,000 SAR and a 100,000 SAR deposit after acceptance.<a href="https://studyinsaudi.sa/en/VisaOptions">Source </a></dd>

<dt>**Health insurance**</dt>
<dd>Study in Saudi: long-term educational visa requires medical insurance covering the holder and dependents. Alfaisal: provide an insurance card or buy cover through the university after admission. KFUPM: Medical Center services free for students; international and exchange students need valid health insurance. KAUST fellowship includes health insurance for student and eligible on-campus dependents. CCHI (cchi.gov.sa) could not be reached.<a href="https://studyinsaudi.sa/en/VisaOptions">Source </a></dd>

</dl>

### Application steps

1. Create a profile on studyinsaudi.sa and apply to a program (institution reviews; Ministry completes final admission).
2. After admission the university/Ministry route handles visa referral; for Ministry scholarships apply through the Saudi Cultural Attaché or embassy in your country if applicable.
3. Provide medical report (free of infectious diseases), valid passport, certified documents, financial proof or guarantee, language proof (not for Arabic studies) and medical insurance.
4. Apply for the Educational Visa through the university-led process (KFUPM: university submits via Ministry of Foreign Affairs and emails the visa); enter Saudi Arabia.
5. After arrival obtain a residence permit (iqama) via the university passport department (free for scholarship students); Absher/Muqeem are the government platforms for residency services (student-specific steps not confirmed on official pages read).

### Documents required

- Passport valid at least 6 months from intended entry (Study in Saudi); KFUPM: at least 6 months; Alfaisal: at least 1 year
- Admission/acceptance from a licensed accredited Saudi institution
- Proof of ability to cover tuition and living expenses or financial guarantee
- Medical report confirming freedom from infectious diseases (long-term visa)
- Medical insurance for holder and dependents (long-term visa)
- Proof of proficiency in language of study, except Arabic studies
- Written guardian consent if under 18
- Attested certificates and documents required by the institution
- Police certificate from home country and possible home-government approval (Ministry scholarship rules)
- University-specific: embassy letter and MoFA visa-referral note (KFUPM)

<dl>

<dt>**Fees**</dt>
<dd>Study in Saudi and the Ministry page list no visa fees; the MoFA visa portal home page gave no student-visa details. Alfaisal says student visa cost "varies".<a href="https://studyinsaudi.sa/en/VisaOptions">Source </a></dd>

</dl>

**Nationality-specific notes:** No nationality-specific student-visa rules for Turkish, Russian, Kazakh, Ukrainian or Azerbaijani applicants found on the official pages read. Ministry rule: government approval from the applicant's home country where that country requires it. Some external scholarship tracks restrict gender or religion per university announcements.

[**Our visa consulting **→](https://armaneducation.com/en/services/visa)

## **Work rights and after graduation**

No official rule on part-time work for international students found (Study in Saudi, Ministry of Education, HRSD home page, university pages). Not recorded as permitted or prohibited. Related fact (search-snippet): King Khalid University requires resident applicants to hold an iqama and not be authorized to work. HRSD Labor Law defines part-time work generally but does not address students.; postStudy: No official post-study stay or graduate work route found.

**After graduation:** No official post-study stay or job-search permit found for international graduates.

[Source](https://www.hrsd.gov.sa/)

## **Language requirements and intakes**

<dl>

<dt>**Language requirement**</dt>
<dd>Study in Saudi: long-term educational visa requires proof of proficiency in the language of study, except for Arabic studies. English-taught programs follow university thresholds: KAUST IELTS 7 (6.5 per section) / PTE 71; KFUPM graduate IELTS 6.0 (MS) or 6.5 (PhD), TOEFL iBT 70/80; Alfaisal requires TOEFL or IELTS (minimum not listed). Arabic-taught programs: IUM (search-snippet) does not require Arabic for admission but students take an Arabic course first; KSU offers an Arabic Language Preparatory Program (four semester levels, 20 hours per week).<a href="https://studyinsaudi.sa/en/VisaOptions">Source </a></dd>

<dt>**Intakes and deadlines**</dt>
<dd>Fall intake with scholarship application windows around April-May (IUM 1447 AH window 19 Apr - 21 May 2026, search-snippet) and a second-semester window (Study in Saudi: 16 Sep - 6 Oct 2026 for international and resident students). Alfaisal Fall applications close 31 May and reopen in March; KAUST Fall 2027 starts 29 August 2027 (deadline 3 Jan 2027) with Spring 2027 PhD only (starts 17 Jan 2027).<a href="https://studyinsaudi.sa/en">Source </a></dd>

</dl>

[**Language and exam preparation **→](https://armaneducation.com/en/services/language)

## **Scholarships**

**Bachelor, master, PhD, Arabic-language programs****Via the university**

### **Saudi Ministry of Education external scholarships for international students (Study in Saudi)**

Ministry of Education / Saudi public universities

<dl>

<dt>**Coverage**</dt>
<dd>Full scholarship (tuition, housing, living per portal), partial scholarship (e.g. seat only or seat plus housing) or paid grants; external benefits: health care (family where regulations allow), arrival reward, housing, annual tickets (Ministry page). Amounts set by university.</dd>

<dt>**Deadline**</dt>
<dd>Per university calendar; second-semester 2026 window 16 Sep - 6 Oct (platform)</dd>

<dt>**Eligibility**</dt>
<dd>Age 17-25 (bachelor/Arabic), 30 (master), 35 (PhD); home-country approval where required; no other Saudi scholarship; certified documents, police certificate, medical exam; mahram requirement under regulations (Ministry summary); not for those already holding a scholarship for the same degree.</dd></dl>[Source](https://www.moe.gov.sa/en/education/ResidentsAndvisitors/pages/publicuniversitiesscholarships.aspx)

**Bachelor (non-residents)****Via the university**

### **King Saud University external scholarship**

King Saud University

<dl>

<dt>**Coverage**</dt>
<dd>Free education, free housing depending on marital status, monthly stipend (SAR 1,000 scientific / 850 theoretical undergraduate; 900 graduate), arrival allowance of two months stipend, return ticket in summer, free healthcare at university medical centre, discounted meals.</dd>

<dt>**Deadline**</dt>
<dd>Not stated</dd>

<dt>**Eligibility**</dt>
<dd>SAT 1010+, age 17-25, diploma within 5 years, no prior bachelor, medical exam; Medicine/Dentistry interview, Architecture written test.</dd></dl>[Source](https://dar.ksu.edu.sa/en/overseas)

**MS, PhD****Direct application**

### **KAUST Fellowship**

KAUST

<dl>

<dt>**Coverage**</dt>
<dd>Tuition and bench fees (up to USD 35,000 per year), stipend USD 20,000 (MS) / 25,000-30,000 (PhD) per year, housing, health insurance, relocation; total value about USD 70-80k per year.</dd>

<dt>**Deadline**</dt>
<dd>Round 2 (Fall 2027): 3 Jan 2027; Spring 2027 PhD: 27 Sep 2026 (passed)</dd>

<dt>**Eligibility**</dt>
<dd>Merit-based; GPA &gt;= 3.0/4.0; English proof; some externally sponsored students may be ineligible; no application fee.</dd></dl>[Source](https://admissions.kaust.edu.sa/fees-funding)

**Bachelor****Direct application**

### **KFUPM international undergraduate scholarship**

KFUPM

<dl>

<dt>**Coverage**</dt>
<dd>Tuition waived, free on-campus housing, free course texts, monthly stipend (amount not listed), medical services at campus clinic.</dd>

<dt>**Eligibility**</dt>
<dd>SAT 1350+ (SAT track) or top-four ISEF winner; international natural-sciences high school graduate living outside Saudi Arabia.</dd></dl>[Source](https://www.kfupm.edu.sa/study/international-students/fees-and-scholarships)

**PhD and selected MS****Direct application**

### **KFUPM graduate scholarships**

KFUPM

<dl>

<dt>**Coverage**</dt>
<dd>Stipend by category, furnished on-campus housing, air tickets, medical and dental coverage, subsidised meals, research-assistant roles, conference funding (conditions), free textbooks.</dd>

<dt>**Eligibility**</dt>
<dd>GPA 3.00; IELTS 6.0 (MS) / 6.5 (PhD).</dd></dl>[Source](https://www.kfupm.edu.sa/study/international-students/fees-and-scholarships)

**Bachelor, master, PhD, Arabic Language Diploma****Via the university**

### **King Abdulaziz University international scholarships**

King Abdulaziz University

<dl>

<dt>**Coverage**</dt>
<dd>Typically tuition, accommodation and living expenses; housing, reduced-price food, annual tickets / ticket compensation, health care for student and family (amounts not stated).</dd>

<dt>**Eligibility**</dt>
<dd>Specific eligibility not on fetched pages; Study in Saudi graduate listings marked Full scholarship for international applicants.</dd></dl>[Source](https://kau.edu.sa/en/page/scholarship)

**Bachelor (international); postgraduate listed as partial scholarships****Via the university**

### **Islamic University of Madinah international scholarships**

Islamic University of Madinah

<dl>

<dt>**Coverage**</dt>
<dd>Partial scholarships per Study in Saudi; amounts not listed (search summary: free ticket, monthly allowance, furnished housing for one science track).</dd>

<dt>**Deadline**</dt>
<dd>1447 AH window 19 Apr - 21 May 2026 (closed; search-snippet)</dd>

<dt>**Eligibility**</dt>
<dd>Age 17-25 for bachelor; not resident in the Kingdom; some tracks restricted by gender/religion (search-snippet).</dd></dl>[Source](https://studyinsaudi.sa/en/Institutions/Details/3a371b0e-2c17-4b10-b5ab-05a5487771b9)

**Bachelor****Via the university**

### **Alfaisal University merit and need-based discounts**

Alfaisal University

<dl>

<dt>**Coverage**</dt>
<dd>20% of tuition (merit, CGPA 3.25 maintained), 20% need-based, 50% Distinguished Science, 20% Dean's List.</dd>

<dt>**Deadline**</dt>
<dd>Need-based: 28 July</dd>

<dt>**Eligibility**</dt>
<dd>International students eligible; third-party sponsored students not eligible; scholarships limited.</dd></dl>[Source](https://admissions.alfaisal.edu/en/scholarship)

## **Cities**

**Riyadh**

**Jeddah**

**Dhahran / Al Khobar**

**Madinah**

**Thuwal**

**Mecca, Buraydah and Al-Ahsa**

## **Universities**

[**King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST)** Thuwal · Public Tuition and bench fees (stated as worth up to USD 35,000 per year) are fully covered by the KAUST Fellowship; stipend USD 20,000 per year for MS and USD 25,000-30,000 per year for PhD; base accommodation (shared for single students), health insurance and relocation (visa, travel) support included. Some students with external sponsorship or funding may not be eligible. More than 90% of admitted students receive funding support (admissions homepage).](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/kaust) [**King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals (KFUPM)** Dhahran · Public Undergraduate international students living outside Saudi Arabia: tuition waived (full scholarship) with free on-campus housing, free course texts, monthly stipend (amount not listed) and clinic services. Graduate scholarships cover all PhD programs and selected MS programs: stipend by category, furnished on-campus housing, air tickets, medical/dental, subsidised meals. Self-sponsored fees (USD): non-thesis programs 2,000 registration per semester + 135 per credit hour; thesis programs 2,000 first semester then 1,000 per semester + 135 per credit hour.](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/kfupm) [**King Saud University (KSU)** Riyadh · Public External-scholarship international students: full scholarship (tuition covered). Study in Saudi lists indicative tuition values for international entries, e.g. Accounting 34,245 (Full Scholarship), Chemical Engineering 53,130 (Full Scholarship); Paid Study entries e.g. Biomedical Engineering 77,280 per year, Clinical Laboratory Sciences 76,360 per year. Currency not printed on the portal.](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/king-saud-university) [**Imam Muhammad bin Saud Islamic University (IMSIU)** Riyadh · Public External (international) applicants: partial scholarships in Arabic-language programs (e.g. Arabic Language, Fundamentals of Religion) with tuition amount not listed. Resident self-funded bachelor listings range from about 30,050 (Arabic Language, Journalism) to 35,250 per year (currency not stated); English-taught examples: Applied Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry 35,250; Information Technology 34,750.](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/imam-muhammad-ibn-saud-islamic-university) [**Islamic University of Madinah** Madinah · Public International applicants: partial scholarships (program-level) for bachelor, master and PhD per the portal; resident paid master/PhD listings 11,000 per semester or per year (currency not stated). Scholarship terms are set by the university.](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/islamic-university-of-madinah) [**Alfaisal University** Riyadh · Private Undergraduate 94,000 SAR per year for all degrees (47,000 per semester for 12+ credit hours; 3,917 per credit hour below that); preparatory program 60,000 per year; master 200,000 for the full program; PhD 400,000 total; summer 3,133 per credit hour excluding 15% VAT. Application fee 600 SAR. International students must take at least 12 credit hours per semester. Study in Saudi lists 108,100 per year for bachelor programs (94,000 x 1.15 = 108,100 arithmetically; the portal does not state VAT).](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/alfaisal-university) [**Prince Sultan University (PSU)** Riyadh · Private Study in Saudi: 96,000 per year for all 12 listed bachelor programs (5 years including a preparatory year; currency not printed). Search summary of psu.edu.sa (search-snippet): from 2025 SAR 3,000 per credit hour (2022-2024 cohorts SAR 2,200), minimum per semester equals 12 credit hours; 15% VAT on non-Saudi tuition; application fee SAR 500 (575 with VAT).](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/prince-sultan-university) [**King Abdulaziz University (KAU)** Jeddah · Public International scholarships generally cover tuition, accommodation and living expenses. Study in Saudi listing: graduate thesis programs shown as Full scholarship for international applicants (scholarship-covered); resident programs paid or partial (e.g. Computing & IT acceleration 35,000 reduced to 17,500 per semester).](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/king-abdulaziz-university) [**Umm Al-Qura University** Makkah · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/umm-al-qura-university) [**King Faisal University** Alahsa · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/king-faisal-university) [**King Khalid University** Asser · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/king-khalid-university) [**Qassim University** Alqassem · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/qassim-university) [**Taibah University** Almadinah · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/taibah-university) [**Taif University** Altaif · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/taif-university) [**University of Ha'il** Hail · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/university-of-ha-il) [**Jazan University** Jazan · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/jazan-university) [**Jouf University** Skaka · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/jouf-university) [**Al-Baha University** Albaha · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/al-baha-university) [**University of Tabuk** Tabuk · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/university-of-tabuk) [**Najran University** Najran · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/najran-university) [**Northern Border University** Northern Border · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/northern-border-university) [**Princess Nourah Bint Abdul Rahman University** Riyadh · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/princess-nourah-bint-abdul-rahman-university) [**King Saud bin Abdulaziz University for Health Sciences** Riyadh · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/king-saud-bin-abdulaziz-university-for-health-sciences) [**Imam Abdulrahman bin Faisal University** Riyadh · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/imam-abdulrahman-bin-faisal-university) [**Prince Sattam bin Abdulaziz University** Alkharj · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/prince-sattam-bin-abdulaziz-university) [**Shaqra University** Shaqra · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/shaqra-university) [**Majmaah University** Almajmaah · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/majmaah-university) [**Saudi Electronic University** Riyadh · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/saudi-electronic-university) [**University of Jeddah** Jeddah · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/university-of-jeddah) [**University of Bisha** Bisha · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/university-of-bisha) [**University of Hafr Al Batin** Hafr Al Batin · Public](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/university-of-hafr-al-batin) [**Arab Open University** Riyadh · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/arab-open-university) [**University of Business and Technology** Jeddah · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/university-of-business-and-technology) [**Fahad bin Sultan University** Tabuk · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/fahad-bin-sultan-university) [**Prince Mohammad bin Fahd University** Alkhobar · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/prince-mohammad-bin-fahd-university) [**University of Prince Mugrin** Almadinah · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/university-of-prince-mugrin) [**Al Yamamah University** Riyadh · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/al-yamamah-university) [**Dar Al Uloom University** Riyadh · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/dar-al-uloom-university) [**Effat University** Jeddah · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/effat-university) [**Dar Al-Hekma University** Jeddah · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/dar-al-hekma-university) [**Riyadh Elm University** Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/riyadh-elm-university) [**Al Maarefa University** Riyadh · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/al-maarefa-university) [**Mustaqbal University** Buraidah · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/mustaqbal-university) [**Al Asala Colleges** Dammam · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/al-asala-colleges) [**Gulf Colleges** Hafr Albatin · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/gulf-colleges) [**Sulaiman Al Rajhi University** Alqassim · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/sulaiman-al-rajhi-university) [**Onaizah Colleges** Alqassim · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/onaizah-colleges) [**Ibn Rushd College** Abha · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/ibn-rushd-college) [**Ibn Sina National College** Jeddah · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/ibn-sina-national-college) [**Al-Baha Private College of Science** Albaha · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/al-baha-private-college-of-science) [**Batterjee Medical College** Jeddah · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/batterjee-medical-college) [**Al-Riyada College for Health Science** Jeddah · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/al-riyada-college-for-health-science) [**Al-Rayan College** Almadinah · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/al-rayan-college) [**Arab East College** Riyadh · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/arab-east-college) [**Inaya Medical Colleges** Riyadh · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/inaya-medical-colleges) [**Al Ghad International College for Applied Medical Science** Riyadh · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/al-ghad-international-college-for-applied-medical-science) [**Buraydah College** Buraidah · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/buraydah-college) [**Jeddah International College** Jeddah · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/jeddah-international-college) [**Saad College of Nursing and Allied Health Sciences** Alkhobar · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/saad-college-of-nursing-and-allied-health-sciences) [**Fakeeh College for Medical Science** Jeddah · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/fakeeh-college-for-medical-science) [**Mihammad Al Mana College for Medical Science** Dammam · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/mihammad-al-mana-college-for-medical-science) [**Prince Sultan College of Business** Jeddah · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/prince-sultan-college-of-business) [**Vision Colleges in Jeddah** Jeddah · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/vision-colleges-in-jeddah) [**Northen College of Nursing** Arar · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/northen-college-of-nursing) [**ALFAYHA COLLEGE** Eastern Province, Jubail Industrial City · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/alfayha-college) [**ALMOOSA COLLEGE OF HEALTH SCIENCE** Al-Ahsa Governorate · Private](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities/almoosa-college-of-health-science)

[**All universities **→](https://armaneducation.com/en/universities?country=saudi-arabia)

## **Official resources**

- [**Study in Saudi (Ministry of Education platform)**](https://studyinsaudi.sa/en)
- [**Study in Saudi - Scholarships & Visa guide**](https://studyinsaudi.sa/en/VisaOptions)
- [**Study in Saudi - FAQ**](https://studyinsaudi.sa/en/Faq)
- [**Ministry of Education - Scholarships at public universities (residents and visitors)**](https://www.moe.gov.sa/en/education/ResidentsAndvisitors/pages/publicuniversitiesscholarships.aspx)
- [**Ministry of Foreign Affairs visa portal**](https://visa.mofa.gov.sa/)
- [**Muqeem portal (residency services)**](https://muqeem.sa/)
- [**Absher (government services; not reachable from this environment)**](https://www.absher.sa/)
- [**Visit Saudi (visitor information)**](https://www.visitsaudi.com/en)
- [**Ministry of Human Resources and Social Development**](https://www.hrsd.gov.sa/)
- [**KAUST admissions**](https://admissions.kaust.edu.sa/)
- [**KFUPM international students**](https://www.kfupm.edu.sa/study/international-students)
- [**KSU non-Saudi admission**](https://dar.ksu.edu.sa/en/overseas)

## **Frequently asked questions**

Information on this page is compiled from official sources and was verified on the date shown. Fees, dates and visa rules change often; check official sources before applying. Empty fields have not been verified yet; ask our advisor for the current information.

## **Let us plan the right path for your goals**

In a free initial consultation we review your profile, budget and goals, and narrow down the countries and universities that fit you.

[**Free consultation**](https://armaneducation.com/en/contact?country=saudi-arabia) [**How we work**](https://armaneducation.com/en/how-it-works)

```json
{"@context":"https://schema.org","@graph":[{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/en#website","@type":"WebSite","inLanguage":"en","name":"Arman Education","url":"https://armaneducation.com/en","publisher":{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/#identity"},"workTranslation":[{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/tr#website"},{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/ru#website"},{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/ua#website"},{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/kk#website"},{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/az#website"},{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/ar#website"}]},{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/en/countries/saudi-arabia#webpage","description":"Costs, visa process, work rights, scholarships and university options for studying in Saudi Arabia.","name":"Study in Saudi Arabia: costs, visa, scholarships and universities","url":"https://armaneducation.com/en/countries/saudi-arabia","@type":["WebPage","FAQPage"],"breadcrumb":{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/en/countries/saudi-arabia#breadcrumb"},"isPartOf":{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/en#website"},"mainEntity":[{"@type":"Question","name":"How do international students apply to Saudi universities?","acceptedAnswer":{"@type":"Answer","text":"Through the Ministry of Education platform Study in Saudi (studyinsaudi.sa): complete your profile, apply to a program at the institution, the institution reviews it, and approved applications go to the institution and the Ministry for final admission procedures. Scholarship applications are made by applying to the institution."}},{"@type":"Question","name":"What visa do international students need?","acceptedAnswer":{"@type":"Answer","text":"Study in Saudi describes an Educational Visa: short-term (up to six months, extendable by six) or long-term (one year, renewable). Requirements include age 16+, passport valid 6+ months, acceptance from a licensed institution, proof of funds or financial guarantee, medical report and medical insurance for the long-term visa, and language proof except for Arabic studies. Fees and processing times are not published on the pages read."}},{"@type":"Question","name":"Are there Saudi government scholarships for international students?","acceptedAnswer":{"@type":"Answer","text":"Yes. Saudi public universities offer external scholarships to non-Saudis abroad (and internal ones to residents): full, partial or paid grants. The Ministry lists age limits (17-25 bachelor, 30 master, 35 PhD), home-country approval where required, police certificate and medical exam. Benefits and amounts vary by university; KSU, for example, lists SAR 1,000 monthly for scientific undergraduate majors."}},{"@type":"Question","name":"How much does it cost to study if I am self-funded?","acceptedAnswer":{"@type":"Answer","text":"It depends on the institution. Alfaisal University lists undergraduate tuition of SAR 94,000 per year; Study in Saudi lists Prince Sultan University bachelor programs at 96,000 per year and KSU paid international health programs at 74,520-77,280 per year (the portal does not print the currency). Fees may be revised and VAT may apply."}},{"@type":"Question","name":"How much money should I show for a student visa?","acceptedAnswer":{"@type":"Answer","text":"Study in Saudi requires proof of ability to cover tuition and living expenses or a financial guarantee but gives no amount. Alfaisal asks for a six-month bank statement showing SAR 150,000 and a SAR 100,000 deposit after acceptance."}},{"@type":"Question","name":"Can international students work in Saudi Arabia?","acceptedAnswer":{"@type":"Answer","text":"No official rule on student work was found on the pages read, so this site does not state whether it is allowed. Ask the university and check HRSD/Qiwa rules before taking any job."}},{"@type":"Question","name":"Is it safe to travel to Saudi Arabia for study right now?","acceptedAnswer":{"@type":"Answer","text":"As of 26 October 2026 the UK FCDO advises against all but essential travel and warns of missile and drone attacks, including on Riyadh airport (10 October 2026). Check your own government advisory and your university's guidance before booking travel."}},{"@type":"Question","name":"Do I need to speak Arabic?","acceptedAnswer":{"@type":"Answer","text":"Not necessarily. Study in Saudi lists programs taught in English, Arabic or both; Arabic-language entry proof is not required for Arabic studies, and KSU offers an Arabic preparatory program for international students. Programs differ, so check each program page."}}],"potentialAction":[{"@type":"ReadAction","target":["https://armaneducation.com/en/countries/saudi-arabia"]}],"primaryImageOfPage":{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/#logo"}},{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/#identity","@type":"Organization","name":"Arman Education","url":"https://armaneducation.com","logo":{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/#logo"}},{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/en/countries/saudi-arabia#breadcrumb","@type":"BreadcrumbList","itemListElement":[{"@type":"ListItem","name":"Home","item":"https://armaneducation.com/en","position":1},{"@type":"ListItem","name":"Countries","item":"https://armaneducation.com/en/countries","position":2},{"@type":"ListItem","name":"Saudi Arabia","position":3}]},{"@id":"https://armaneducation.com/#logo","@type":"ImageObject","caption":"Arman Education","contentUrl":"https://armaneducation.com/icon-512.png","inLanguage":"en","url":"https://armaneducation.com/icon-512.png"}]}
```

## Sitemap

See the full [sitemap](https://armaneducation.com/sitemap.md) for all pages.
